Inspired Thoughts?

Every now and then I see blog awards floating around on sites I read. Sometimes they find their way to me, and I’m always honored to hear my words are valuable to someone.

In this particular case, a new-to-me blog sent something nice my way. Double cool!

I’m grateful to Dressed to Quill for thinking of me with this …

20121212-063037.jpg

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

I suppose I’m slow to respond, but it still gives me an excuse to post before I would otherwise dream up some content.

Here’s what I’m supposed to do:

– Display the award logo

– Link back to the person who nominated you

– State 7 things about yourself

– Nominate 15 other bloggers and link to them

– Notify those bloggers of the award and its requirements

About those seven things. I tried to think of things beyond the standard GTKY.

Here we go.

1) I carry a knife. Every day.

After working on the farm for some time, my husband informed me I really need to have a knife on me at all times. It’s essential for cutting open twine on bales of hay or straw, and it doubles as a screwdriver in a pinch. I’m lucky enough to have a leatherman as my current knife, so it’s also got a pliers and several other gadgets. You just never know when or what you’ll need on a farm!

20121213-094557.jpg

2) I’m a shoe girl.

I may be a farmer, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have a little Carrie Bradshaw in me. 😉 Whether I’m plotting when I can afford my next pair of Mizuno wave riders or eyeing up a pair of patent leather d’Orsay stilettos, let’s just say I have an appreciation for fine footwear.

I don’t have hundreds of pairs or anything. These days it’s quality over quantity, and I’m trying to downsize on the ones I don’t wear much.

3) Online shopping is my secret weapon.

Maybe weapon is taking it too far, but I love being able to Christmas shop or pick out a wedding gift from the comfort of my own couch at 5 am or 11 pm.

You can also find unique things online you’ll never track down in stores. Like, ahem, the awesome Believe I Am journal I gave away right here on my blog last week. 😀

(No, they are not paying me to say this. Yes, they do have some pretty awesome stuff for female runners and athletes, plus holiday specials right now.)

4) I’m not a great driver

Nobody likes to admit that, but we’ve all got our strengths and weaknesses, right?

I think I do fine in a car (my husband may disagree), but tractors are another story. I’m kind of the last resort driver if nobody else can do it. I’m just not good at noticing when the engine doesn’t sound quite right or there’s a problem with some mysterious part I can’t identify or pronounce.

The one thing I have become more proficient at in recent years is maneuvering skid loaders. And as such, these are definitely my favorite piece of machinery to drive.

20121212-100500.jpg

5) I once got kicked out of the Mediterranean Sea.

Back in what seems like another lifetime, I did a college study tour in Europe. Some friends and I detoured to Munich and Rome before heading home, and our Rome accommodations ended up being about an hour outside the city, smack dab on the gorgeous coast.

With the coaxing of some other young tourists we all decided to head into the water. I’m not sure if May just wasn’t swimming season yet, but the local authorities were pretty clear about their disapproval. I didn’t see a “no entrance” sign; I promise!

6) I’m a wimp when it comes to heights.

I don’t even like climbing the 25 or so feet to check the level of grain in our calf grain bin. Heights just make me queasy.

Roller coasters lead me to feel like death, and I’ve even been known to get light-headed on the ferris wheel. (Though I still like the ferris wheel.)

I had rather daredevil friends growing up so I tried to keep pace, but I usually failed miserably. ;(

7) I’m an instrumental music enthusiast, and I play the saxophone, piano, and organ.

Sometimes I worry my fingers will forget the notes, but whenever I sit down at the keyboard or pick up my sax the music just comes. I suppose I’ve played for so many years that it’s become like riding a bike; something I can’t forget.

The organ (yes, think big church pipe organ) is more challenging. I only took lessons for a year and haven’t played much since, so I’m guessing my feet would be slow to remember the pedal work.

And there you have it. Seven things.

As far as choosing 15 inspiring bloggers, well, I just don’t think I can pick. I’m inspired by all my readers. Yes, you. If you feel like sharing your own seven things and claiming the badge courtesy of yours truly, please go for it!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inspired Thoughts?

  1. Terzah says:

    Wow, the organ! That looks so hard. I’m in awe of our church organist–he’s a true artist. Good for you!

    These facts just underline that you are a badass. But I knew that already.:^)

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Oooh, I suck at driving too. Mostly just tractors, but I’ve had my share of car accidents. When it came to driving tractors we had to switch off as kids. I’d pay my brother to drive for me because I sucked at it and would always get picked on when my plow rows or racked hay were so crooked! Oops…

  3. I am horrible with directions. It’s such a bad stereotype of women that I hate to admit it. But there you have it. I guess that isn’t an “inspired thought” so much as “confessional drivel”. Sorry.

  4. Suzanne says:

    My dad loves to tell the story of teaching me to drive the tractor. He still gets a good laugh about the two of us rolling back down the hill on the tractor. I prefer to stick to driving my truck!

    It sounds like we have a similar love for shoes. Mizunos are some of my favorite running shoes but nothing tops the Manolo Blahnik Patent d’Orsay orange shoes that my husband bought me for our first anniversary. I tried them on while we were on our honeymoon and fell in love. A year later they made their way to me!

    • Lisa says:

      Fun story! And yes, apparently we do share a similar taste in shoes. You’ve got a perceptive husband to appreciate the Manolo Blahnik’s you wanted. 😉

Leave a Reply

