Winter White, etc

Winter made her presence known on Sunday, with a vengeance.

At 4:30 a.m. I was already worried about the condition of the roads as I headed to the farm. The drifts were starting too, and the snow just kept falling.

All. Day. Long.

Whether we got 10 inches or 16 I’m not sure, but I do know it makes a ton of work. We’re mostly done moving snow, but there’s still a few areas where a good shovel is in order.

Aside from the snow, the other challenge was the deep-freeze that followed. While it was around 28* most of Sunday, later that evening arctic air settled over us. Temperatures fell into the negative digits, and windchill was nearly -30.

It’s been cold all week, but today I think there’s hope of 32*. I’m certainly looking forward to it!

Here’s a look around our winter wonderland:

20121212-065633.jpg

20121212-065648.jpg

20121212-065705.jpg

20121212-065716.jpg
Boo nearly gets lost in the white!

And here we are after some mega snow moving.

20121212-065853.jpg

20121212-065908.jpg

Needless to say, I haven’t managed to run a single mile yet this week. I did run a nice 5-miler over slightly snowy roads on Saturday, and that was slick enough.

I’ve also ended my gym membership because it’s out of the way from our new house, so no more treadmill access for me.

I did finally unearth my ice treads for my shoes, so maybe in a day or so the roads will be melted enough for an attempt. I have come to realize that it may be a long winter if I don’t track down a reasonable, used treadmill. 🙂

Happy 12.12.12 everyone!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter White, etc

  1. sweatykid says:

    Maybe you can get some decent used XC skis, too! 🙂

  2. Kathy says:

    I have to say, I’m kind of jealous of your snow. We were supposed to get 3-6 inches this past weekend but we only got a dusting (and it’s all gone already). I know it’s a lot of work, but it doesn’t feel like Christmas without snow!

  3. Get a pair of snowshoes if you don’t already have them! They’re so much fun and I’ve read that they’re great cross training for runners. Burns mega calories, too!! So many benefits.

    We had 16″ where I am, so I’m itching for my first snowshoe outing this weekend!

  4. Terzah says:

    Snowshoes are what I want for Christmas, too–but we haven’t gotten much snow here either. It’s apparently dumping in the mountains but not down where we are. I do hope you can track down a treadmill. I’d love to have one, too.

  5. Jess says:

    Middle of ND over here, and we didn’t get much for snow – maybe a couple inches. But that wind was wicked!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    The snow is beautiful and the drifts have their moments of fun…but when it comes to farm life, well, I don’t exactly miss snowy days on the farm! And the cold, oh the cold! I feel a little guilty for complaining about the 10 degree temps I had to spend all of 3 minutes in the other morning!

Leave a Reply

