Frosty Warmth

I awoke to a frosty world this morning, the kind of frost that seems more like early fall. The fields and grasses were thickly white, and an intense fog hung in the air.

I actually missed my turn on the way to the farm this morning, and I had to go around the “country block” a mile.

I knew it was supposed to warm up and clear up, but by 10:00 we still hadn’t passed 30*.

So I took the time for a little photo opp as the dogs played. You’ll notice the fog lifted substantially even between photos.

20121202-071427.jpg

20121202-071739.jpg

By noon the sun was out, and we were on our way to 45*. The wind had picked up, but I was still itching to get my running shoes on. Just a few miles…

The farm had other ideas though, and I needed to care for a new baby and deal with a broken waterer before I could go. I’m also knee-deep in numbers and spreadsheets as the end of the year gets close, but how often can you go running in shorts in December?

In Minnesota, the answer is not very much. And while I probably wouldn’t have over-heated with covered legs, at about 4:00 I scrounged around for a pair of forgotten shorts I had at the farm.

After finding them I remembered why they were still there. Big, baggy, and shapeless, but it didn’t matter.

I tied on some old running shoes along with my bright pullover and headed out on to the gravel roads.

3 miles was enough to catch the beauty of the countryside and the beginning of the sunset.

20121202-072616.jpg

20121202-072625.jpg

I don’t often get to run in the afternoon, but perhaps that’s why I savor it so much when I do?

On another note completely, I want to thank all of you who have signed up for my blog giveaway so far.

I’m so glad I asked about your goals for the year because it’s been awesome to read your stories of progress and success. And even if you didn’t hit your ultimate goal, it sounds like you’ve all been enriched through the journey.

Keep those entries coming; it will be open until the end of the week!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

