And just like that…

Poof! Fall was gone.

Thanksgiving morning dawned sunny and warm, at least for November.

After checking things out at the farm, I headed out for my solo turkey trot.

Wearing just knee-length tights and light long sleeves, I felt perfectly dressed for the mid-40’s weather.

After 2 miles passed my hands started to get chilly, and I wished for mittens to snuggle them into. I was glad I’d at least remembered to cover my ears with a fleece headband.

Another mile down the road the wind really started blowing, and my arms and bare legs started to feel the cold.

I picked up the pace as I turned around, and I saw the sun disappear under the building clouds. I figured I should hurry things along, so I started really pushing to finish the second half of my 10K strong.

By the time I arrived back at the farm I could feel with certainty a storm would be coming. The weather was originally predicted to be nice on Thanksgiving with colder temperatures and wind arriving Friday.

But things happened a little faster. We left for Thanksgiving dinner at Grandma’s house about 12:30, and by the time we sat down to dinner thick snowflakes were falling.

After massive helpings of delicious turkey with all the trimmings, we figured we needed to go back to check on things at the farm.

It was hard to believe the swirling wind and snow arrived so quickly. “Was I really running with bare legs just earlier this morning?” I thought to myself.

We did get to go back to Grandma’s for pie later, and let’s just say we drove carefully over the snowy country roads.

Things have been cold since Thanksgiving, with a high temperature today of about 18*.

I think tomorrow it is finally supposed to get above freezing, and I’m looking forward to it!

I realized I haven’t posted many farm pictures lately, so I took a few to share during the day and then as dusk was setting in. The babies are doing well in their little coats and cozy hutches.

20121126-085507.jpg

20121126-085633.jpg

20121126-085653.jpg

I hope everyone had a blessed holiday weekend. Maybe you also made it out for a turkey trot, solo or organized. If so, how did it go? Has winter arrived where you are?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And just like that…

  1. Terzah says:

    That sounds like a perfect Thanksgiving. It’s really too warm and dry here for my tastes (though it’s been nice for training). It feels weird to play Christmas music when it’s 60 outside.

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Gah! Yes the weather changed so fast! We were back in WI…it was beautiful Thursday morning and early afternoon but we left our Thanksgiving dinner to snow flakes and wind!

  3. I did an 8k race on Thanksgiving morning in capris and a long-sleeve running shirt. When we went to the fiance’s parent’s house for our meal at 1pm, I was wearing jeans and a short sleeve shirt without a jacket. By the time we left around 4pm, I had to put on a sweatshirt and was cold!

    Thankfully, it’s supposed to be in the 40s this weekend! Yay!

  4. MNGobbleGal says:

    No turkey trot for me until I finally got home on Sunday but it felt good to get out there and run a bit. And I’m enjoying the slight warm-up we’ve got coming for the weekend … enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

