The First Week

There have been a few skirmishes and several bouts of jealousy. There have been sad doggy eyes and happy, exuberant wagging tails and pink tongues. There have been highs and lows this past week as Calvin and Boo (and JR and I!) adjust.

Mostly though, it’s been wonderful and exhausting.

Boo came to us crate trained, but not exactly house trained. After several accidents on the kitchen floor I started watching her extra carefully inside. I’d put her out whenever she paced, and then just stay outside with her until she went. This also means getting up to let her out at 3 am when I hear her awake.

We did keep her in the crate for the first few nights to keep accidents at bay, but she was so unhappy to be locked inside while the rest of us were out.

I don’t really want to keep a giant dog crate in my living room, and so we’ll just keep working on this house training thing.

Like Calvin, she’s outside at the farm during the day, and comes in the office or house with us as we do.

20121117-044925.jpg

20121117-044959.jpg

I think they’re settling in pretty well at home too. 🙂 (We’ve been staying at the old house most of the week due to house training & continuity of place for Boo.)

20121117-044500.jpg

Running Tales

As you might guess, I haven’t exactly run much this week. I made it out once, Thursday morning, and it felt positively wonderful.

I think next week will be easier because my morning routine is set again and Boo is getting more trustworthy in the house. I could take her running, as she does well on a leash, so I may have to try that soon.

I’m hoping for a Saturday morning run yet this week, and as I write this I can see it’s almost 5 am. Maybe I should just get up now and go in the dark?

Nah — I think I’ll sleep for a few more hours and hope for the best. 🙂

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The First Week

  1. Terzah says:

    Having a new dog is sort of like having a baby! Definitely an adjustment….but worth it!

  2. Glad Boo is settling in!

  3. Kathy says:

    Housetraining dogs is definitely a challenge. What really worked for us was to give Charlie a treat every time she did her thing outside and to continue giving her treats for longer than we thought was necessary. It’ll get easier!

Leave a Reply

