My New Commute

We’ve been staying at our new place more often lately; as we move more and more furniture and continue work on improvement projects.

We’re still far behind where we’d like, but that’s not what this post is about…

This post is about something that’s going surprisingly well this week. Running.

I’ve had a renewed motivation to get up and get running first thing, which makes me feel better the rest of the day. I know that extra hour of light in the morning is also helping me along.

I think most of you know this, but I’ve virtually given up on evening running. It seems I usually get stuck late at the farm if I’m planning on running, or if I don’t I feel guilty for not fixing supper or house projecting.

Keeping my runs early is almost “free” time because I manage to sleep in if I don’t run. I rarely get projects done, even if I mean too, so I may as well just run! ๐Ÿ™‚

On Wednesday morning I decided I would try my first running commute from our new home.

It’s just under 5 miles, and the morning was a beautiful clear, sunny, and 35*.

JR drove the car and Calvin… One of the convenient aspects of working with your spouse. ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s a nice country run, and I can take several different variants of my route that’s 2 miles up and 3 miles over.

Mostly it looks a lot like this.

20121110-060521.jpg

5 miles isn’t so far I know, but it’s about all the further my long runs are right now. I think I’ll try to keep up this run weekly unless the snow makes it too challenging. And maybe by then I’ll have that treadmill I keep thinking about!

20121110-061617.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My New Commute

  1. Jena says:

    I think 5 miles is a perfect commuting distance – that is awesome that you can run to the farm from your house! Sometimes I wished I lived in an area where running/biking to work was a SAFE option.

  2. Terzah says:

    I used to be able to bike to work and back, but moved 14 miles away and can’t do that any more (unless it’s some kind special occasion with lots of planning involved). Running in the morning is the only way to go for me, too. I feel better the rest of the day, and everything else I get done feels like gravy.

  3. I definitely agree that more light in the morning helps the motivation. Good job getting up!

  4. Brit says:

    I love the idea of running to work! I have thought about it many times. Chris works across the street from me, so it should be doable, but the stars haven’t aligned yet. Someday.

Leave a Reply

