The Unwritten Ones

We bloggers all do it don’t we?

Start composing a post in our head, that is.

For me it’s while I’m working or running; feeding a new calf or walking the barns; cooking supper or just daydreaming.

I’m sure I can’t count how many eloquent words I’ve strung together in my brain that just never made it to the computer screen so I could hit publish.

And the unwritten ones are always the best, aren’t they?

No grammar rules are broken or even worried about, and the story just flows like melted butter over something delectable.

I have more unwritten ones lately. It’s likely because somewhere in the past year I went from posting almost daily to barely weekly. Seasons of blogging I suppose. I also feel I have less to say; a person can only describe cows and workouts and post mediocre photos so many times.

It seems harder to find the time and motivation too, but I do like my little slice of the Internet. I won’t let it die. It needs to ebb and flow.

I view my stats from time to time (or a lot), and readership in October is WAY up. Thanks all! It’s nice to know the posts that have made it here are being read. Anyone who’s blogged for an extended period knows you have to do it for something within yourself, but it’s also nice to know you’re not speaking into empty space.

I think I had some grand, philosophical mission when I started this stream of thought, but I’ve definitely lost it now.

Instead, I think I’ll go back to my roots. I’ll post a few cow and running updates and leave this open for comments. If you have something you want to hear about give me a shout out. My inbox is always open.

Lately at the farm…

20121030-062754.jpg

20121030-062801.jpg

Yup, lots of snow last week. It’s melted now, and we actually just moved these ladies out of their pasture today. I think they relished their first look at winter though.

My running has been lax as we slowly try to work on house projects and moving. Strangely enough, the morning it snowed last week was the only run I managed. I’d made up my mind to go, and whipping wind and flurries weren’t going to stop me!

Our yard looked like this as I finished my few miles, and then later in the day is when I photographed the cattle.

20121030-063120.jpg

Take care all; stay safe if you’re in the wake of Sandy, and Happy Halloween.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Unwritten Ones

  1. Terzah says:

    Seasons of blogging for sure! I’ve gone from sort of desperate for readers to not even knowing what my page views are. Ironically my most-read post is the one about how I’m going to stop blogging in January. Ha! I’m glad *you’re* going to keep at it, though.

  2. themasonjar says:

    Yes seasons. I just started up again, using a blog title that has been dormant. I completely agree that you have to have a blog for something within yourself. I discovered that when I took a few months off. Thinking it would give me a chance to catch up on “things”. That didn’t happen! But I did discover how much I missed it, and how important it is to me. Thanks for sharing. I greatly appreciate your snow images…as we sit here in central California with temperatures in the 80’s…Fall come quick!

    • Lisa says:

      It’s funny that no matter how little or much I blog, I never seem to catch up on stuff either. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by; enjoy your writing as you re-enter the blogosphere!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    You have no idea how many posts I have written in my head! Mostly thought up when I’m running or working out. And even if I remember to write about them later it never sounds as good as it did in my head hours ago!

    I think that the blog posts that are posted because the writer really has something to say rather than because they need a post for the day are more fun to read. Or maybe that is just what I’m telling myself now that I don’t have time to write… ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Great post and definitely on-target. I compose the best posts when I’m no where near a computer or pen and paper and completely forget it about five minutes after I’ve decided what a clever, witty or insightful post it is. Glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t get around to posting daily…or sometimes even weekly!

    Happy Halloween!

  5. cecilia says:

    I have a little farm too and i am often thinking of the words that i am going to write that night to go with my pictures. i put up a daily post so that is a lot of words and a lot of pictures!! Love the look of the snow but i am not looking forward to it here.. not for a while i hope!! c

  6. I am going through a slower “not much to talk about” or “too busy/tired to write” blog season right now too – if I posted more, it’d be because I think I “should” and not because I feel like I really have anything to say. Especially since i’m not running really at all anymore. But it’ll pick back up for both of us I’m sure.

  7. taratru says:

    Yep. I think of THE best things to write throughout the day, but I never follow through at home. And I always feel so pressured to include pictures and generally be awesome. *sigh*

    • Lisa says:

      No pressure, honestly. It’s your writing, for YOU.

      I feel like 80% of my stuff is junk, but it’s the good 20% that I’ve got to keep on for. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

