Mother-Daughter-Sister Time

“The question isn’t whether you believe in God. The fact is that God believes in you, and He loves you so much more than you can ever imagine.”

I’m paraphrasing a little bit I’m sure, but this thought really resonated with me last Friday night.

My Mom was excited for months that she’d gotten tickets to Women of Faith, a Christian event featuring speakers, music, worship, and more.

And this isn’t exactly your coffee shop small group. We headed to the Xcel Energy Center in downtown St. Paul (where the likes of Pink and Lady GaGa have upcoming concerts) and were blown away by the sheer scope of the event. Tens of thousands of women all eager to praise The Lord and learn more about His truth.

In a word, amazing.

I wish I would have gotten a photo of us, but it seems like that always gets forgotten in the mix. But photo or not, it was such a blessing to be there with my wonderful family.

Friday night finished up around 11 pm, and then we got some sleep at a nearby hotel before Saturday’s events.

It was more speakers and music throughout the day, and each new segment brought valuable insight, coupled with energy, laughter, joy, tears, sorrow and everything in between.

Life can be hard and serious. Real pain and suffering are evident in this world in so many ways. And yet God still gives everlasting hope. He is water, Living Water, when we so desperately need our thirst quenched.

I want to share a few more thoughts from this weekend that I thought were memorable in their truth and simplicity.

First, many speakers referenced God’s power being strongest and perfect when we are weak.

When you have sunny skies and smooth sailing, you may feel invincible. Why do you need God?

But when things are stormy, or even if you’ve hit rock bottom, God is still there. He’s on your side, and you’ve got no where to go but up!

Another quote I liked was about us as broken people, a broken humanity. The speaker said, “God can still make something beautiful out of a broken person if you just trust Him with all the pieces.”

You have to be willing to give up your own agenda and turn your ear instead
to God’s way. For God does say, “my power is made perfect in weakness.”

My sister Jill (with the new baby) didn’t come, but she lives close by enough that we could all still spend time with her and visit our newest little niece too.

The cows even behaved pretty well during my absence, and they waited until Monday to deliver 7 babies in one day. Uff da!

But, you know what?

God is good all the time, and I’m happy to be reinvigorated with this truth as I work through the ups and downs of life. I hope and pray you can all know this truth as well.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother-Daughter-Sister Time

  1. Glad you enjoyed the event and feel refreshed! That’s God’s grace!

Leave a Reply

