Etta, the blog calf, at one

Just last week we woke up to 28 degrees and frosty. Today it was 81. It’s crazy how fickle weather can be this time of year.

I do love fall though, and it was a gorgeous day to finally go and get some photographs of Henrietta, the blog calf!

At just over one year old she’s large and growing. Her diet now consists mostly of silage (scroll 4 posts back to the comments if you want to know more about what silage is) and dry hay.

She is also almost breeding age. 13 months is when we will first start breeding heifers as they hit the right time in their cycle.

Without further ado, here’s Etta.

20120930-080909.jpg

20120930-080926.jpg

20120930-080949.jpg

Late September also means full harvest moon to keep me company when chores get long. I shared this one with my twitter and Facebook followers the other night, but in case you missed it…

20120930-082145.jpg

Running continues to be sparse but good, and I think a few easy runs will be all I will do before next Sunday. One week from today it’s Twin Cities 10 Mile time!

I find it strange I’m so excited for a race I’m so poorly prepared for, but I am. I’ll take that as a good sign and run with it. πŸ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Etta, the blog calf, at one

  1. Rebecca says:

    Awww, I can’t believe Etta is one! Time flies.

    Good luck on your race, I bet you will do great with fresh legs!

Leave a Reply

