A New Chapter of Home

It’s been almost a month since we showed up at a Saturday morning auction and bought 7 acres and a house.

We close before the end of the month, and we decided it might be good to go and take a slightly longer tour of our new home.

It’s nearly surreal that I need to begin the packing and moving process… So much so that I’ve barely started. 🙂

My husband and I are (amazingly) in agreement that with the number of updates that need to be made we should look into hiring someone to remove the 70’s paneling and replace the carpet, etc instead of trying to do it all ourselves.

It’s always hard to spend good money on things you could do yourself, but time has a big value too. It would take years before we got through each room to make modern updates, and some of them really need help sooner than that!

For your viewing pleasure, I snapped a few photos. The first might be the most modern, appealing room, and the second is definitely pure 1974.

20120920-081135.jpg

20120920-081211.jpg

Running Tales

Since my running hiatus I’ve now gotten in 3 runs. They’ve all been surprising awesome, but I have had some soreness the next day from not using those muscles enough lately.

I’m happy with how well my body is handling the miles, and I think the 10 mile coming up will be realistic.

On my run yesterday as I was covering the paths and roads I know so well, it occurred to me that soon we’d be moving. I won’t run by the lake anymore, and I’ll have to find new favorite routes. Certainly I’ll be close enough that I can drive to the lake for running, but I know I won’t that often. I’m just accustomed to stepping out my front door and going.

I will miss these views:

20120921-085359.jpg

20120921-085424.jpg

20120921-085432.jpg

I’ve been working on this post for a few days, and now it’s already September 21. I realize I missed announcing 2 important milestones yesterday.

Our very own blog calf, Etta, turned 1 yesterday. It’s already been 1 year since she looked like this…

20120921-085641.jpg

And because I picked our blog calf last year on my blog’s birthday, the blog turned 2 years old.

I appreciate all of my original readers and new readers, and I hope you’ll stick around for many years to come!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A New Chapter of Home

  1. shelby says:

    Congrats on the new house!! That carpet is, uh, special. 🙂

  2. Terzah says:

    What WERE they thinking in the 70s??? But having a new house is so exciting and I think you’ll be glad you hired someone to do the work. You guys are busy enough. :^)

    Congrats to Etta on one year and you on two!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Ahhh…that carpet. I remember when my grandma has that carpet in her living room. She had such a hard time picking out new carpet because she swore up and down that was the best carpet color ever invented, it never showed dirt, it didn’t have hotel-style designs…on and on.

    Congrats on the new house, have fun moving and enjoy finding new running routes – preferably without getting lost and only accidently detouring the long way on a few occasions!

  4. Kathy says:

    I totally agree that it’s worth hiring some things done so that you don’t have to work on them for what seems like forever (especially with how busy you guys are).

    Happy birthday to Etta and your blog! I love reading it. Hopefully I’ll get to meet you and Etta one day. 😉

  5. Jess says:

    Congrats on the house, that is so very exciting. 🙂

  6. Cassie says:

    Trying to catch up here. How exciting about the “new” house and 7 acres! I dont envy your remodeling project! Hop all goes well!

Leave a Reply

