Can I fake it?

Can I fake it?

Running, that is. A 10 mile to be precise.

I made it through the lottery a few months back to get a spot in the Twin Cities 10 mile, and the other day my confirmation ticket and corral assignment (#2!) arrived.

I want to run this race, but I haven’t exactly been preparing.

Okay, I’ll be specific. It’s been 23 days since my last run. And while 14 hour work days don’t leave a lot of extra time, this 23 number sickens me. I haven’t been this run-deprived in years.

I have carved out a plan to run tomorrow morning and get to work a little late. I think I’ve settled on 5 miles.

Long enough to feel and enjoy the run, but short enough to handle after a 3-week hiatus.

As for the 10 mile, is it wise to still run it? Could I handle the decision NOT to run it?

By way of helpful background, let me recap my running year…

January started slow with rest days and a nasty cold, but by mid-month I was again running strong. I was solidly focused on my sub-2 hour half marathon goal, and I trained consistently and well.

In February during the midst of 1/2 training I was thrilled to set a new 5K PR of 23:10 — almost a minute faster than my previous best.

Spring came and I smashed my half marathon goal by running 2 halves in 1:54 and 1:55 respectively.

May and June saw my mileage decrease as things got busier at the farm, but I was still running several times per week.

I ran 2 more solid 5K’s this summer and just missed a new PR in mid-August. I felt ready to tackle 10 mile training.

Then some stuff happened. Employees leaving, endless work, and training new people. Silage chopping, hay chopping, and a cold virus that knocked me to the pavement.

And we managed to buy a house rather spur-of-the-moment.

So here I sit, only 1 month removed from a fabulous 5K, but I haven’t run in 3 weeks.

I am certain I’m still in good enough shape to cover 10 miles, but I probably won’t like the result.

What to do?

I guess that’s a rhetorical question though, because I already know what I’m going to do. If things are going ok at the farm, I will pack up my stuff and head to Minneapolis/ St. Paul to run this race. Prepared or not, I will give it my best.

If some form of employee drama, farm emergency, or harvest/field work prevents me from going I will deal. I will stay home, pout, do my work, and get over it. I’ll tell myself it’s for the best, and I’ll start planning for next year.

And that’s the reality.

So, give me your best 3 week training plan for a 10 mile. October 7th is coming fast. πŸ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Can I fake it?

  1. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    Man, I’m sorry you’ve had such a rough summer! I know you were really looking forward to running this race. You’re still in great shape just from all the work you do on the farm – that said, you can probably cover the distance fairly easily, just maybe not as fast as you would like. I don’t know what your weeks are like, other than very busy, but if you can manage to get up to 8 miles before the race, I think you’ll be okay.

    Good Luck, and I hope nothing comes up so you can run the race.

  2. Terzah says:

    I know how you feel–you want to run your best, not just something adequate. I think you should do the race and not worry about having a time goal, just a “finish feeling good” goal. Since work stuff is still busy, you shouldn’t stress too much about a rigid running schedule leading up to it, either. Run when you can, maybe try to go longer when you have time–and focus on rest when you have time too.

  3. taratru says:

    I think you should totally do it. You’ve got enough racing experience to handle it. Plus, isn’t that a super fun race?

  4. My advice…just do your best! From now til the race, I’d recommend getting a solid base–find the max distance you can comfortably do in a day, and do that 3-4 times a week, plus one longer run once a week. Remember that there are two important things about races: starting and finishing–timing isn’t as important as being brave enough to start and strong enough to finish!

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    Run the race! I ran it a few years back and its a great course. Besides, its a huge race, you’ll never have time to get away from spectators and truly suffer, so go for it! And its not like you’ve been sitting on your butt eating chips and ice cream…

    I think you lose speed a lot faster than endurance. I’ve surprised myself with 5-7 mile runs after months of nothing further than 2-3 miles, usually less – the longer runs didn’t even hurt! My speed however…that dwindles off real fast!

  6. Kathy says:

    I think you should definitely run it if you can. I’d run it for fun and not a time – speedy races aren’t the only ones worth doing. Some of my favorite race memories are ones that I’ve done to enjoy and not get a certain time. And if you surprise yourself with speediness, even better!

  7. Pingback: I Can Do This | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

