Etta would like to announce…

…she’s a big sister!

Yup, it’s true. Etta, our very own blog calf, has a dark-eyed, long-lashed, black and white beauty of a baby sister.

Born August 27 at about 10 a.m., mom and baby are both doing well. ๐Ÿ™‚

So why am I just now posting this news on August 31?

Well, I apologize. It’s really not excusable. All I can say is in the days since her birth I think I’ve averaged a 14 hour workday. And a 5 hour sleep night. (I’m a 9 hour night kind of girl.)

I checked my running log; I haven’t run in 9 DAYS. It feels like months, and it’s awful. But when I start and end work in the dark and barely get meals I just can’t justify (or manage) to get in a run.

I have 2 new, in-training employees, my husband is driving or working on machinery countless hours a day for corn silage harvest, and we’ve had 4 or 5 new babies a day lately.

This is why I haven’t found the time to blog. But it’s still crappy.

I would imagine you didn’t click on this “Etta announcement” post to hear me whine. You want to see some pictures of the baby sister!

Enjoy. I hope to have more details on life, farming, and running once things slow down. And I’m hoping that’s soon.

20120831-094720.jpg

20120831-094843.jpg

20120831-094918.jpg

20120831-094945.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Etta would like to announce…

  1. hey! that’s a good day to be born! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Rebecca says:

    Cute runs in the family!

    i know how you feel, sometimes life gets overwhelming and the things we love (like running) have to take a temporary backseat. Hope you can catch a break soon!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Happy Birthday Etta’s sister! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep on surviving…before long all the harvesting and baby popping will slow down, you just need to make it that long! And good luck with the new help, hopefully they work out for you!

  4. Terzah says:

    Aw, she’s very sweet! That’s a happy reason not to be posting–I know you miss running, but you’re “running” of another kind. Hope it slows down soon!

  5. That sounds intense! Hope it slows down soon. And Etta’s sis is very cute.

Leave a Reply

