The Sunday Race

Better than I expected.

I think that succinctly sums up my 5K performance earlier today.

A big thanks to all of you for your encouraging comments and good luck wishes the other day. They worked!

It was a strange race in some ways.

For one, I couldn’t arrange things to have Sunday morning off, so I slipped away in the midst of morning chores once things were under control. I don’t normally get up at 4 am and spend 3 hours on my feet before a race, but maybe I should. It’s a pretty effective warm-up. πŸ™‚

The day was also strange. Yes, this was my first ever race on Sunday.

It so happens that the half marathons and marathon I’ve run up to this point have been Saturday races, and virtually all (except this one) 5K’s around here are run on Saturday.

Normally I prefer to get to church if I can carve out a few Sunday morning hours away, but this race just called to me.

I felt like I’d be letting down my little town if I didn’t run this inaugural race. It was a beautiful day too – high 50’s in the early morning – and hundreds of runners and walkers came out.

I hurt pretty much the whole way. A lingering side ache and a foot sore from being stomped by a sharp-hoofed calf kept me on edge.

Am I the only one that questions my sanity and feels that my heart may give out as I near the end of a 5K?

I kept pace though. I can hardly believe it.

I crossed the line exhausted as 5th overall female, running 23:12, a mere 2 seconds off my PR.

Am I disappointed I couldn’t squeeze 3 more seconds from my time?

Actually no. As someone who freely admitted 2 days ago I wasn’t in PR shape, I’m happy as a clam.

After one (or two or three) pastries and a pint of water I attempted a few cool down miles. The side ache returned with a vengeance, and I slogged about a 1/4 mile before I could finally move normally. I figure I totaled about 5 miles for the day, and that works for me.

I still haven’t forgotten that one of my 2012 goals was to run under 23 minutes for 5K. I think I’m done racing until the Twin Cities 10 mile, but I know later fall will provide a few more chances if I want.

20120820-093950.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Race Reports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Sunday Race

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Congrats on a great race. It may not have been easy but I think the important thing is that you pushed through. It hurt, it was uncomfortable but you kept going. And you ended up with an amazing time considering how much time you’ve been farming rather than running – you’ll definitely get that sub 23 this summer! πŸ™‚

  2. Terzah says:

    Congratulations! I had a good feeling about you and this race. I think the sub-23 will be a piece of cake for you with the marathon base established and a little speedwork!

  3. That’s awesome – way to go!!

  4. sweatykid says:

    Nice one!! This is why I love your blog — not many (any?) other running bloggers are dealing with things like bruised feet from calf stomps and (what I imagine to be) exhausting farm chores as a warm up. Always fun to read πŸ™‚ congrats on the race!

  5. Anna says:

    Congratulations! An very different way to spend the morning pre-race! Well done on a brilliant race and a great result!

Leave a Reply

