When it rains, it pours

Isn’t that what they say?

When it rains, it pours…

Anyway, that’s a bit of what I feel right now at the farm. Last post, I shared with you all that I’m short a calf employee, and it’s been a challenge.

We haven’t found quite the right replacement yet, but with a few part-time high school kids working for the summer we’ve been able to make things work.

The employee we lost didn’t want to go, but various life circumstances meant he’s no longer living in the area. It happens. People move; change is part of life.

Anyway, with calves being a rather particular and labor intensive job, it’s important to find the right people for the job.

Yes, I said people — not person.

Due to a variety of known and unknown reasons, my other main calf employee just gave two weeks notice.

Right in mid-August as harvest is on the horizon and our part-time help is preparing to go back to school. Let’s say the timing could have been better. :-\

But, the other thing I know is if someone still wants to leave after discussing things, then it’s probably for the best. There’s a reason, and hopefully the silver lining is we’ll find and develop people who can be even better.

With that, I want to apologize for being a scarce reader and commenter on many of your blogs. I still keep up when I can, but I think it will now be even more scarce as we work to re-evaluate our needs and hire and train new people.

My blog will probably suffer too, but I’ll still be around. I just may need to figure out how to squeeze 30 hours of work into a day for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Things are still clicking along around here, as evidenced by the happy heifers we moved out to pasture last week. They don’t always pose well, but I’ve been trying to catch them looking gorgeous.

20120809-112323.jpg

20120809-113537.jpg

20120809-113630.jpg

The other update I’ve been skipping is our garden. Things are actually flourishing this year, and we were almost overwhelmed with our harvest the other night. We’ve used a lot, froze some, and we can share with employees and neighbors what we don’t use.

20120809-113836.jpg

20120809-113901.jpg

Fresh veggies from your own yard are definitely a blessing.

Calvin is happy lately too. Long hours at the farm don’t bother him. It gives him more time to chase squirrels, watch over calves, and get his paws dirty!

20120809-114020.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Calvin, Gardening and Yard Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When it rains, it pours

  1. I hope you can find some new people quickly!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Happy dog! Love the farm pictures, hope you can find the right help soon!

  3. Jena says:

    Oh man, you are having a rough time @ the farm lately! I hope you are able to find replacements quickly so you can get some rest & running in!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Life happens…and sometimes it really sucks, but hopefully things work out. At the very least you’ll be so busy with the manual labor of farming you’ll end up extra buff when you do get back into regularly scheduled running!

  5. Bree says:

    Hope things get easier for you! It’s true…when it rains it pours. Take care of yourself. We will all be here when you get back ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

