Candids

Rain has come our way, and we couldn’t be more thankful!

In the past week we’ve had over 2 inches, which means we should get a decent 3rd cutting of hay and have a good corn crop as well.

When your animal’s winter feed depends on the weather it can be nerve-wracking, but this season should end happily for us.

I know some of those throughout other parts of the Midwest (Southern Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa to name a few) are not so lucky. I’m sad for those that have drought-stricken crops, and I pray that between crop insurance, disaster assistance, and God’s grace, things will work out okay.

While JR and I were looking at the dark green of the corn after a rain shower we thought some pictures would be in order. Try as I might, I was just not photogenic.

20120727-021810.jpg

The terrible outcome of the first few photos left me laughing almost to tears, so then we got this gem.

20120727-022024.jpg

I finally decided it would be better to take a photo without my face. Apparently that works best…

20120727-022129.jpg

Yes, the corn is tall enough that I could easily get lost in the field if I’m not careful!

With that, I’m off to work on farm chores. I hope to be done early enough to catch some of the Olympic opening ceremony. I especially like the track & field events, but there’s something awe-inspiring about all the Olympians. It’s such a rich history and tradition that I can’t help but be intrigued.

Will you be watching tonight? Anyone specific you’re cheering for during these games?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Crops, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Candids

  1. Kathy says:

    Glad you got some rain! I’ll be watching the opening ceremony too and tuning it intentionally for the triathlon and marathon. Not cheering for anyone in particular but definitely Americans. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you get to watch too!

  2. shelby says:

    Don’t you worry about spiders or ticks or something getting on you when you’re cozying up to that corn?!

    Signed,
    Wussy city girl

    • Lisa says:

      You know, I never would have thought about that. I hate spiders, but I guess I worry way more about them in a dusty closet or dark basement than a field. And ticks seem to be anywhere outside. Maybe I should be more worried in the field… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. taratru says:

    Jeez your corn is huge! (twss?) The corn around here isn’t even as tall as me and I thought we were doing okay. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    From what I hear from back home you guys lucky to get rain before its too late, that corn looks beautiful! I guess a lot of people in WI are kind of hoping the rain holds off a bit longer so the crop insurance can really kick in. So sad.

    I had to work during the opening ceremonies and now I’m half watching the swimming, which is rather boring. Although I am crazy excited that Lochte won! I really like that guy! I’m more of a winter Olympics person but these athletes are amazing!

Leave a Reply

