I’m in!

Remember a few months back when I blogged about wanting to run the Twin Cities Marathon?

I looked back, and it appears I specifically stated, “I’ve thought about signing up for the Twin Cities 10 Mile lottery (run with the marathon), but who am I kidding?… Deep down I know I want to do the marathon.”

Apparently I had a change of heart.

I was eager with anticipation when I opened my email this morning. I saw it right away, the email congratulating me on being selected in the lottery for a spot in the Twin Cities 10 mile. Woo Hoo!

I’m not sure how many people were vying for the 8,000 spots, but I’ve heard the lottery is tough. I told myself if I didn’t get in, then no big deal. If I did, then this is meant to be my fall race.

I’d cast aside ideas of a fall marathon after I had a hard time running at all in June. … that was the month I managed 26.2 miles ALL month. I’m still maintaining (low) mileage in July, but I’m keeping at it.

Another veto for the marathon was my husband’s comment to me that “You seem to get really worked up when you sign up for a long race and then it looks like you might not get to run it.”

Well… yes! A lot of time and effort, sweat and miles go into training.

But I know he’s thinking of how early October is usually prime time for corn silage harvest when we really need all hands on deck. And I would be crushed if I signed up for the marathon and simply couldn’t go because we were chopping silage or absolutely needed to harvest corn before rain or bad weather.

Fall is just busy, and it’s critical to make sure we harvest at the right time so we have good feed for the cows all winter. I can make plans, but there are always a few fall days that need rearranging no matter what.

With the dry summer it’s looking like an early silage harvest, so I should be okay for the Oct 7th race. But if not, it would be easier to miss the 10 mile than a marathon if I absolutely can’t get away.

After thinking about my fall race aspirations some more I knew I wanted a big race. I wanted an exciting goal to keep me motivated, and I also wanted to keep to my 2012 plan of running a new distance this year.

I’ve never run a 10 mile before, so this race certainly fits the bill.

And I came to a realization. Just because I run the 10 mile doesn’t mean I can’t or won’t run the marathon someday. Being a part of this race weekend I’ve wanted to run for so long will still be thrilling. “Marathon” has this aura about it that draws respect from other runners and sheer awe from non-runners. In many ways simply completing the distance is an end unto itself.

But each race has its own challenges and rewards. I think the most I’ve ever hurt during a race is at the end of a hard 5K. Even more so than my first marathon. I think greatness as a runner (though recreational) can come in a race as short as you want or as long as you want. I can be proud of a 10 mile effort too!

The way the rest of this summer looks I may have a hard time training as well as I’d like even for 10 miles, but at least I have no fears about finishing.

It’s less than 11 weeks to race day. Guess I better get training!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m in!

  1. sweatykid says:

    Woohoo for getting in! 10 miles sounds like the perfect race distance. I ran a 15K once and loved it. Hope you enjoy training!

  2. Yay! Congrats. The 10 mile will be fun. That’s the distance of the first race I ever ran (though it wasn’t the TC 10 Miler). Have fun with that. And I’m amazed that you hurt more at the end of a 5K than at the end of your marathon. I definitely cannot push myself that much in a short distance race. Which is probably why my average pace in a 5K is slower than my average pace in anything longer. Strange, I know.

    • Lisa says:

      I should qualify “hurt!” I suppose it’s a different kind in shorter vs. longer races. A marathon for me was more about mounting fatigue until my legs felt like jello & were so, so tired. A 5K is that feeling of barely being able to breathe enough oxygen or even think. It’s all you can do to focus on one thing — faster!

  3. Terzah says:

    You are right that greatness and a feeling of accomplishment can accompany any race. I think you’ll like the 10 mile distance. There’s something so “round number pure” about it. Congratulations on getting in the lottery!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Congrats! I’m excited to hear about it – I rant it the year before my full at TCM and it was a solid race. Lots of spectators, a great course and a freaking beautiful finish!

  5. taratru says:

    That will be fun! Congrats on winning the lottery!

  6. Anna says:

    Oh, fantastic! Such a beautiful course! I completely understand about the different types of ‘hurt’. In a half or full marathon I am so cautious as I’m scared I won’t finish if I push too hard, therefore I usually finish with something more in the tank. A 5K however, is all out….how fast can you go?
    Congratulations on getting in and good luck with the training!

Leave a Reply

