Etta goes down the road (only for a little while)

Hey all! How are you doing in the heat of mid-July?

We’ve had some really hot days around here, reaching 99 or 100 on Monday. We also have very dry fields and crops, so I was thrilled to finally wake up to rain this morning. And 65 degrees!

I enjoyed a quick run in the rain, my first run all week. I’m still struggling to find time for running along with balance for work, home, and family lately. It’s strange, but I almost always do better with my training in the dead of winter.

As my husband astutely pointed out though, usually the farm is less busy in the dead of winter.

Anyhow, on to today’s topic. Etta.

I can’t believe I haven’t posted about this yet, but a few weeks ago Etta took her first trailer ride off the farm. She and a group of about 15 other heifers moved to a farm just a few miles down the road.

We essentially lease some space from them because we don’t have enough space for all our yearling (year-old) heifers. I guess Etta isn’t quite a year, but she will be 10 months on Friday.

We still take care of vaccines, breeding, and animal health, but the other farm feeds and beds the animals we have there everyday.

Of course she didn’t want to pose very long, but here’s Etta at her temporary new home.

20120718-101407.jpg

She’ll come back to our farm about 3 months before she has her first calf. She’s not pregnant yet, and we won’t breed her until 13 or 14 months old, so she’ll be away about 1 year.

No worries though. I’ll still see her when we give vaccines or move animals to and from the other farm. You’ll still get Etta updates.

20120718-110034.jpg

Our truck and trailer also posed for a moment before we pulled away.

In the dairy barn back at the farm we’ve been project-ing away in spite of the heat. What may end up as the hottest day all summer, Monday, we hung more fans in the new part of the barn.

One thing’s for sure, the cows were quite curious as to why we were interfering in their pen!

20120718-110324.jpg

20120718-110329.jpg

I know they’ll appreciate the extra breezes though. πŸ™‚

20120718-110619.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Etta goes down the road (only for a little while)

  1. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    You guys have a ton of equipment – just when i think you’ve shown it all, you bust out with a picture of a lift! Do you rent equipment, or do you have everything on hand?

    It is so weird that everyone is having hotter weather than florida!

    • Lisa says:

      Nope, the lift isn’t ours. Though it seems we do have a lot of stuff! The lift is our electrician’s, and he let us use it a day early to put the fans up. Then he used it the next day to do the wiring for them.

  2. Cassie says:

    Oh this heat – it has been intense! Just yesterday I was talking to Jack and Ava about how dry it is, and we took a close look at the corn fields surrounding our little place here. The corn looked so stressed and I explained to them that the corn desperately needs rain. We prayed for God to send rain, and needless to say, we were all thrilled to wake up to the sound of a heavy rainfall this morning – 2 1/2 inches here! My garden is happy, too.

    Etta is darling. And it must get intense working in the barns in all this heat. We are so very thankful for our a/c but I do feel sorry for livestock when it gets like this. I even broke a cardinal rule of mine and let our poor over-heated german shepherd in the house on Monday.

    Hope you have a great day and stay cool! It’s gonna be a humid one, I think!

    • Lisa says:

      Your prayers paid off; thank you for thinking of the crops & farmers. πŸ™‚ I’ll bet your dog with all that hair was very grateful for the AC on Monday. Stay cool!

  3. taratru says:

    Etta is so big! Cutie patootie. Hoping for continued rain for you guys!

  4. Terzah says:

    Wow, you guys work hard! I’m so humbled and impressed. I wouldn’t stress about running at this time of year in the least, if I were you.

    I love the Etta photos. And what a great name, too!

Leave a Reply

