My First Team Dairy 5K

After 100 degree temperatures earlier this week, the weather has cooled off substantially. I would say it’s downright pleasant now in the 70-85 range.

Lucky for me because on Saturday I finally raced my first 5K of the summer. No excuses; I needed and wanted to see what kind of time I could run.

JR, Calvin, and I headed to my parent’s house on Friday night so we could visit, watch fireworks, and be ready for race morning. Calvin had a small confrontation with the newest addition to my parent’s porch, but otherwise everything was great. ๐Ÿ™‚

20120708-085229.jpg

On Saturday my sister Julie, her boyfriend and I all prepared to tackle the 5K. It was a point to point course which I like, but it made warm-up a challenge. I’ve found I race short distances much better with several miles warm-up.

I only had time for about a 1/2 mile jog before the bus left, and then we arrived at the start just minutes before the gun fired. I would have liked to run another mile after we reached the start, but so it goes.

20120708-090629.jpg

20120708-090636.jpg

You may notice I’m sporting my new, pink Team Dairy shirt.

It arrived in the mail Thursday — perfect timing! Team Dairy is a group of runners who support dairy farming and believe in the importance of dairy products in a heathy diet. It’s sponsored by Midwest Dairy Association and mainly made up of staff, RDs, and farmers like me. The back of the tech-shirt features “Bessie” and DairyMakesSense.com

The long and short is I raced the 5K and survived. I really hoped to run under 8:00/ mile pace and maybe crack 24:00 minutes. I knew I wasn’t in much better shape than that.

There were no timing chips, only gun time, so I lined up near the front of about 150 runners to avoid too much congestion.

It was still a crowded first quarter-mile, but after that things evened out. My legs felt tired almost the whole way, so I decided this was a good race to work on mental toughness. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I wasn’t in awesome shape, but I COULD do this. Only 3.1 miles. It’s easy, right?

A competitive 5K is anything but easy…

I powered along, and got passed by a lady wearing a shirt that proclaimed “You just got chicked” on the back.

I didn’t want to let anyone else by, but I was loosing steam. With about 800 meters to go I got passed by another girl. It was a downhill stretch to the finish, but my legs were so tired. I sped up a little, but she wasn’t going to give up easily. She pulled away quickly, and then I decided I had to keep trying. I’m tough too.

I started gaining on her, which is when JR got this glamor shot…

20120708-093512.jpg

We came across the line neck and neck; the official saying it looked like we tied. (JR later said I just barely beat her, and I tended to agree.) Either way it’s okay because I had a strong finish.

We exchanged high 5’s, and thanked each other for the push. I’m sure we both finished about 10 seconds faster because of our little battle.

We were the same age group, and in the awards she was 2nd and I 3rd. I suppose I could feel cheated, but I think it worked out perfect. I didn’t miss out on first, and I also didn’t end up fourth and miss a medal. Not that it would have mattered so much, but don’t we all like to win a prize?

20120708-094147.jpg

20120708-094224.jpg

Official gun-time, 24:25. 7:53/mile pace.
Not my finest time, but I think I raced at my potential for the day. I can be proud, and I also know I have some work to do.

And yes, I drank milk post-race (though I had to wait until we got back to the farm).

Here’s to running more races for Team Dairy; cheers!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Calvin, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My First Team Dairy 5K

  1. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    Nice work! It’s hard to race in this hot weather! I avoid racing until September/October. It’s just not fun to try and PR in this hot weather!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Nothing like an exciting finish to get you revved about racing. Sounds like a fun one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. taratru says:

    Nice job! That’s an awesome finishing pic.

  4. Terzah says:

    Great job, Lisa! You kicked it in at the end and that’s what counts. I like the shirt–makes me want to drink some chocolate milk….but I’d better race first…

  5. Runblondie26 says:

    Nicely done! Congrats on a strong race and a little extra bling!

  6. Great job! I bet winning an award feels great, especially for a race that you did just to see how fast you could go.

  7. Anna says:

    I love the finish line picture…and the story that goes with it! Congratulations on a great race!

  8. Lisa says:

    You gals are all so sweet! Thank you, thank you.

  9. Love the pink shirt. Congrats- I would cut yourself some slack given the temp. Ouch.

  10. Heidi Nicole says:

    You did awesome! Great job with the kick at the end! And I love the shirt!
    Thats a pretty little medal you earned yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

