When the days get long…

… Sometimes you just need to sleep in.

Apparently.

It’s been a long, long week. A “getting home at 11:00 and eating super at midnight some nights kind of week.”

But that didn’t stop me from having big plans for Saturday morning. I wanted to race — just a local 4 mile. The weather was nice and cool for mid-June, and after a few weeks of decent running I was looking forward to seeing what kind of time I could run.

On Saturday when I woke up 28 minutes after the race had already started let’s just say I was a little bummed.

But I was also still exhausted. Instead of getting up and going for a solo run on a beautiful morning I rolled over and went back to sleep. It happens sometimes. 😉

I’ll just have to live vicariously through some of the amazing runners competing in the Olympic Trials currently underway in Oregon.

Is anybody else busily following Internet coverage on their phone or watching on TV when you get a chance? Just me?

How about that decathlon WORLD record yesterday? Or the fab 3 in the women’s 100 hurdles? Or the crazy tie for 3rd in the women’s 100?

I’m not sure how I find time for this when I’m barely managing to fit in eating and sleeping amongst work. It only happens every 4 years though.

I told my husband this is my “March madness.” He will just have to put up with my undeterred interest in following track and field.

In farm news, things continue on busy as ever. As I alluded to above, we’ve been putting in some long days. Some of it was catch up, some caused by inclement weather, and some from chopping hay until early Friday morning.

I also had a scare on Friday morning when I couldn’t find one of my calves. He’d gotten out of his hutch overnight, which a newborn doesn’t usually manage. I suppose someone hadn’t fastened his yard quite right. After some careful looking I found him where we always find runaway calves. He was nestled quietly under heavy brush and forest cover.

It’s an instinctual thing I think. They want to hide from predators somewhere safe until mom comes to find them.

20120624-022535.jpg

In this case that mom was me!

As I write this I can’t believe we only have a week left of June. Summer slips by so quickly doesn’t it?

Happy June Dairy Month, and Happy Olympic Trials — for those of you die-hard running fans like me. 🙂

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When the days get long…

  1. sweatykid says:

    Desperately wishing I had a TV or smartphone or computer that doesn’t freeze… solely so that I could watch the trials. I’ll be back east in time to catch the last night of trials action and my butt is gonna be PARKED on that couch like there’s no tomorrow. Woohoo!!!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Uh, I think you needed your sleep! I’ve been putting in long days at work {in an air conditioned building, so tough!} and not getting nearly enough sleep {read: 2 hrs between 12 hr shifts, ick} and today’s sleeping in felt freaking amazing. Your body probably loves you for that extra sleep!

  3. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    I’ve watched a tiny bit of the trials. I don’t think I get the channel that has the track part, all I can find is swimming or gymnastics. I did stay up late on Saturday night to watch the Women’s gymnastics! They are so amazing!

    Aww, that little baby calf is precious hiding in the bushes!

Leave a Reply

