June Babies; All Dressed Up

I think I told you all before, but I’ll tell you again. June is a very busy baby calf month this year.

Each day we’ve had new additions to our herd, and I always think the best way to show them is with photos.

Here we go…

20120610-095439.jpg

20120610-095449.jpg

Calvin likes watching over the new babies too. Or perhaps they are watching over him?

20120610-095613.jpg

This past Thursday and Friday we had the luxury of getting away for a few nights to attend a wedding.

Things were mostly smooth while we were gone, and it was so great to reconnect with friends and catch up with those we don’t see often enough.

For some reason my phone camera seems unable to deal with indoor lighting anymore (perhaps heavy outdoor use along with straw and dust trapped inside the case are to blame?).

Here’s a photo, albeit grainy, from the evening.

20120611-085126.jpg

My shoes got chopped out of the shot, but they are fabulous. On sale, but still pricier than I ever buy, I think my non-running shoe budget is maxed out for the year. Which is fine. I’m working on increasing quality and decreasing quantity anyhow. šŸ™‚

20120611-085452.jpg

Yes, I know 4-inch heels aren’t great for my runner’s feet. I did pack flats, and I changed into them at a responsible hour.

Upon our return, many calves were waiting. This new brown heifer was my favorite. JR was even smitten.

20120611-085741.jpg

20120611-085747.jpg

If you haven’t been following along in June yet, I want to remind you June is Dairy Month! I’ve got a great link on the top right for recipes, resources, and more.

Also, I’m helping to promote coupons and a giveaway at multiple grocery stores across the country. For a list of stores and coupons just click here. (Coupons good through the 16th.)

I wish you all a great start to the week! Hope your summer is getting off to a great start too.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to June Babies; All Dressed Up

  1. sweatykid says:

    Your straw-dust camera gives the indoor photos an old-timey instagram effect — kinda cool, actually!

  2. Cute shoes! I’m a believer in buying the thing you really want, even if it’s more expensive, instead of buying several things that are “just ok” because they’re cheaper. I’m looking forward to being able to wear heels again…

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Um, I give you a ton of credit for being able to wander about in 4 inch heels…I tend to tip over! And did you see that the coupon thing shows a chance to win a years worth of cookie dough!? Yes, please!

    • Lisa says:

      Yes — I did see the cookie dough prize. Yum… Maybe not the healthiest option, but I figure drinking it with milk helps balance it out. šŸ˜‰

  4. Cassie says:

    Those shoes are fabulous! And that brown heifer is darling! Glad you and your hubby were able to enjoy some time away – if anyone deserves it, it’s you! You look gorgeous!

  5. Terzah says:

    I couldn’t wear shoes like that! I even wore ballet flats in my wedding. But they are really pretty. Not as pretty as the baby calves, though. :^)

  6. Awww. cute. And you two aren’t bad looking yourselves!

  7. Jess says:

    You and your hubby are adorable, as are the calves… but in a completely different sort of way. šŸ˜‰

    Seriously, the shoes? I die.

  8. Anna says:

    Oh the shoes….fabulous! I rarely have occasion to wear such heels but relish the times that I do (and then totally regret it after about an hour of agony). Beautiful picture of you and your hubby! And the calves are super-cute!

Leave a Reply

