The spring tradition

It’s a stormy night, which I actually rather enjoy. Hearing the rumble of the thunder, watching the giant clouds, and seeing the sheets of needed rain is comforting somehow.

Rain mellows me out, and I need that tonight. Never mind that I wasn’t so thrilled earlier when the rain soaked my thin t-shirt and jeans while I fed calves. And never mind that we are STILL waiting for a several day window of clear weather so we can cut and chop hay.

Life is full of pros and cons, right?

Tonight when I started constructing this post I got to select a category I haven’t clicked in quite a while. “Gardening and yard stuff!”

Even though we bought a house with over an acre of extremely overgrown yard, my husband would never think of hiring someone to help us clear brush or landscape. It wouldn’t even occur to him.

Why would you hire someone to do something you can do (in your own non-existent spare time)?

Truthfully we both like working on the yard in our own ways, but it’s just hard because we’re always behind. Especially nestled between neighbors with close-clipped lawns and manicured shrubs.

20120523-100236.jpg

Overgrown yet sunny. šŸ™‚

While our yard time may be better spent wrestling with the lawn and overgrown flower beds, we’re busy plotting our garden. LOTS of tomato and pepper plants have been purchased, and an array of vegetable seeds are waiting to be sown.

I got a few flowers too, but they all seem to look sparse once I scatter them around the house and garden. I think I’d need a carload full to really get started on the floral look I aspire to, but I know we’ve all got to start somewhere.

20120523-100751.jpg

In the northern suburbs (of Minneapolis/St. Paul) one of JR’s good friends has a family greenhouse & nursery. We always try to get our seedling tomatoes from him, and this year was no different. As always, they are the best.

20120523-100958.jpg

This specific tomato is the only one we’ve managed to plant in the ground so far. (pictured before planting.)

The greenhouse also grows a lot of their own veggies for a “pick-your-own” and regular vegetable stand in summer. We got the inside scoop a few weeks ago on the TLC their little plants get…

20120523-101215.jpg

20120523-101230.jpg

This white coverings will all be taken away once the plants get bigger and harvest time arrives.

Our own little garden doesn’t always thrive, but each year we’ve had at least some harvest. In spite of late planting and busy summer days, we have always managed to plant our vegetables.

Talking about it, it’s hard to say for sure why we do it. Certainly the produce is tasty, and we love having it fresh and ready just outside our door. But both our mothers grow gardens and usually share the bounty.

Perhaps it’s hereditary, this desire to plant things and watch them grow? And we do enjoy nurturing our little plants.
Whatever the reason, it would feel wrong not to plant. So we do. Let’s ignore that it’s almost June, and we’ve barely started the actual planting and tending work.

Just for good measure, I’ll end with the obligatory running update. It can be summed up by “not much.”

I want to get back at it, but I’m just feeling blah. It seems awful to say that when I know some of you are battling injuries and itching to run, but apparently I can’t help it.

I’m worn out and that’s that. I did run a few easy miles last week that were fine, and I think I’ll give myself until Monday to run easy. Then — for my own sanity — I need to get back to some kind of schedule!

Almost forgot – I’ve got a link for you. Heidi, who visited last week, blogged about her stop at our farm! She was better detailed and more picture intense than me, so check it out. And stay tuned to her blog for her upcoming race report on the Fargo Marathon. It’s sure to be a good one. šŸ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Gardening and Yard Stuff, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The spring tradition

  1. Terzah says:

    Don’t let us injury-riven types make you feel bad about getting your much-needed rest!

    And the only plants that thrive in my care either came from the desert originally or are carnivorous (I have a Venus fly-trap in my bathroom). So your planting efforts look massive and impressive to me.

  2. Anna says:

    And what a great storm it was! It kept me awake a fair bit but I loved the drama of it.
    I love the idea of growing your own vegetables – as soon as we live somewhere a little more permanent we plan to do the same. I’ll be coming to you for advice!
    Enjoy some rest time, the run will always be there when you’re good and ready…and, of course, it will be so much sweeter on fresh legs!

  3. It rained here last night too and I loved it! It hasn’t really rained here yet this spring so it was very welcome, not only for our garden/landscaping/yard but also for me. I fell asleep on the couch around 7:30. It was glorious.

  4. taratru says:

    Enjoy your rest! And the rain…I ran in the rain yesterday and it was wonderful.

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    One thing I miss about living in the country is a yard…and a garden. My parents didn’t garden but we always helped my grandma with her garden and I miss it. Although it probably doesn’t miss me, right now I’m struggling to keep a few flowers alive on our balcony!

    As for the running – don’t get too hard on yourself, spring/summer on the farm are busy, if you weren’t tired I’d think something was wrong with you! That being said, having a schedule of some sort does help!

  6. Jess says:

    Yes, don’t say that it’s almost June! šŸ˜‰ I’ve got too much garden yet to get in too.

Leave a Reply

