A Blogger Comes to Visit

Drip, drip, drip. The rain is still coming down, soft yet steady, on this Sunday afternoon.

It’s in massive and welcome contrast to the dry, windy, parched days we had most of last week.

Friday I think it hit 90*, and the wind sucked away any last moisture that could be found. At least the steady breeze helped keep the heat tolerable for people and animals!

It was on this scorcher of a day I had a first at the farm. I had my first blogger friend come to visit.

Heidi, who ran a massive PR at the Fargo Marathon on Saturday, was passing by with her mom on their trek to Fargo.

While it may seem strange to let someone who’ve never met come to visit, it actually felt quite natural once they arrived. I remarked that I probably know more about Heidi (and my other friends who’s blogs I read regularly) than many of my family and IRL friends. Perhaps I need to convince all my sisters to start blogging so I can better keep up with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

When Heidi arrived she was just as she seems on her blog, talkative and friendly; tall, slender, and blonde. (All great qualities!)

She and her mom were wonderful visitors, and because they used to have their own farm I didn’t even need to do much explaining. Heidi is definitely more farm-savy than she gives herself credit for!

20120520-110820.jpg

I pointed out specific cows and details in the barns, and when we spotted 2389 I explained how friendly she was. Of course she decided to get “stage fright” looking at our group of four people, but eventually she let Heidi pet her.

20120520-111151.jpg

Next we saw Etta & company, and of course my beaten up phone camera couldn’t deal with the bright sun streaming into the darker barn well enough to take a legible photo.

I did take some photos on Heidi’s camera though, so she may post them once she’s recovered enough to do so!

Then we headed out to look at the hutch calves.

20120520-030047.jpg

Calvin, of course, followed us on our way and weaseled into pictures when he could.

The “sweetest” part of the visit was definitely this:

20120520-030821.jpg

20120520-030902.jpg

Chocolate chip, oatmeal, and meringue cookies, s’mores bars plus several cow-themed and running items greeted me from this huge basket.

I told JR that Heidi knows me and my sweet-tooth better than I thought.

Beyond generous, this was such a treat. My family & I all happily overindulged.

All I had for Heidi was a good luck card I’d put together plus bottled water, milk, and Gatorade, so I think she’s got an IOU from me if she’s ever passing this way again!

As we said our goodbyes we figured a photo was in order. I debated posting this, but here it is. I promise I haven’t packed on 10 pounds around my middle. It’s the wind billowing my shirt; honest. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20120520-031712.jpg

I told you she’s tall and slender. I’m 5’8″, but next to Heidi I look short and stumpy!

I hope I’m not leaving out any super important details, but I think that’s the gist of our visit. And happily the tour didn’t wear out Heidi’s legs too much because she ran an amazing marathon the following day. Congratulations!!

Any farm tour questions?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Calvin, Cooking and Foods, Cows, Henrietta (Etta for short!), This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Blogger Comes to Visit

  1. Terzah says:

    Very cool that you got to meet Heidi! Finally meeting people in person is one of the great things about blogging. And I promise to make you look tall and willowy when we take a pic together someday–I’m only 5’7″. :^)

  2. taratru says:

    How fun! I have the same shirt she’s wearing, which threw me off for a minute!

    Next time I come through Minnesota, I’ll bring my NOT farm-savvy self to visit and you can teach me all I need to know. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lisa says:

      Let me know if you are in the area! It is always fun to show people around the farm when they’re experiencing much of it for the first time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Courtenay says:

    I heard all about this when I finally got to meet Heidi IRL at the expo that evening!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you all had a fabulous time!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    …and I finally got around to writing my half of the story! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for the visit, the tour and taking all that time out of the middle of a busy farm day. It was great to meet you and see how you guys run the farm! Now I’ll be able to conjure little mental images when you speak of farming!

  5. Anna says:

    How wonderful! It sounds like a great day and a fantastic farm visit. I love the farm photos.

    By the way, I’m only 5’3″…..I’d make you all look tall and willowy! (And I can say “only”!)

Leave a Reply

