What’s happening Oct 7?

I’m thinking of doing a marathon this fall. Not just a marathon, but a specific marathon. The Twin Cities Marathon.

Back when finishing 26.2 miles was a faraway dream, Twin Cities was always the race I pictured myself running. I could almost see myself coming down the hill on John Ireland Boulevard, coasting over those last triumphant miles to the finish at the Minnesota Capitol.

Yes, that would be my race. I would run Twin Cities someday.

When running a marathon started seeming like a more realistic goal, I thought about details. The when and where were important — the logistics of doing a marathon. Winter would be an easier time (schedule-wise) for me to train and a spring marathon wouldn’t require long runs during the heat of August.

In 2011 — one year ago this coming weekend — I ran my first marathon in Fargo. And it was awesome.

Speaking of Fargo, the lovely Heidi at Run around aroo is planning to stop by the farm to see me (and the cows) tomorrow on her way to run the marathon. Blogger visit! Watch for details soon.

I certainly don’t regret choosing Fargo, but it doesn’t diminish the desire I have to run Twin Cities.

I’ve thought about signing up for the Twin Cities 10 mile lottery (run with the marathon), but who am I kidding?

One, I may not get in, but two, deep down I know I want to do the marathon.

I don’t have quite the flurry of summer weddings and commitments I did last year, and I think I could make it through the summer heat. Farming is always busy, but I’ll just have to be organized about when I fit in my runs.

It’s crazy that even as I feel burnt-out on running and am enjoying my break, I’m itching it sign up for 26.2 this fall.

The website says it’s already 70% full, so I will have to decide sooner rather than later.

What are you doing October 7? Any of my readers running Twin Cities this fall?? šŸ™‚

What about my goals for the race? Every race needs goals…

If I sign up I think the first goal would be a PR. A modest one would be fine. Given that I’ve improved a lot in the last year, I think with reasonable training this is achievable. (current PR 4:29:57) Twin Cities is a more challenging course than Fargo, but I’d have experience (and hopefully less humid weather) on my side.

Because I ran a 1:54 half this spring, I’m almost tempted to think of training to run sub-4:00. How cool would that be? Could I make it?

But then there’s life. If I take this on I’ve got to make certain it doesn’t take over my life. It can’t dictate my schedule, take over my concentration, hinder my work, or hurt my relationships.

I’m not singing up for 60+ mile weeks, and I don’t know that I should go after an aggressive time goal when I don’t think I can put in the right training volume to get there.

Balance is such a challenge. I know I could be better if I trained more and harder, but at what cost does that training come?

Anyway… Maybe if I had a partner or “pacer” that wanted to work toward sub-4:00 with me that would be the ticket. The sign that I’m supposed to attack this goal.

Or maybe you need a pacer?

Heck, I’ll bet I could pace someone to 4:45 or 5:00-something and be chipper and encouraging while doing it. šŸ™‚

This marathon isn’t set in stone, and apparently I’m feeling flexible about my plans and goals if I do run it.

It’s always uncomfortable for me to post big race plans on the blog because they may fall through. But I think that’s just part of the game. Maybe thinking about it this year will be the push I need to sign up next year?

Or maybe I’ll be nervously pacing in the autumn air in front of Mall of America Field (a.k.a. The Metrodome) ready for the start this October?

Ready or not, I’ll have to decide soon!

Do you have a big race on the horizon?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s happening Oct 7?

  1. I think the TC Marathon is a GREAT race to run and am tempted to say that I’ll join you (but I won’t, because hopefully I’ll be preggo by then). Not sure if you’ve ever thought about Team in Training or if it’d be close enough for you to participate but from their website, it looks like they have a training group for the TC marathon. Here’s the link: https://www.teamintraining.org/mn/firsttimehere/events/
    I’m not really sure on what to recommend because you know as well as I do that training for a marathon is a big time commitment. I guess it just depends on how much you want it. šŸ˜‰

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the idea; I’ve thought about signing up with World Vision again too. TNT is a great org as well, and I’ve looked at some of the other TCM partner charities. I think if I do raise $ I still want to sign up soon & pay my own way. Then I don’t have the fundraising minimums and requirements to stress about.

      Hope you’re preggo by Oct. šŸ™‚

  2. Kelly Schmidgall says:

    What are you waiting for!!??? I can feel your excitement! This is your year! I ran the 10 mile last year with my family and it was the most enjoyable race yet!! I would join you but will have a baby about that time. Maybe next year right? You will find the time and the energy to do it. You want it, so sign up today…stop thinking and do!!! I believe in you!

    • Lisa says:

      What a nice comment; thanks Kelly. šŸ™‚ Congrats on the baby too! I still have a few things to think through, but I know I’d love to run it this year…

  3. Anna says:

    Twin Cities was my first marathon and I loved every second! I loved training for it – even during the hot, humid summer. It wasn’t so bad! Of all the races I have ever taken part in, TC comes out on top. The course is so very beautiful and the support is fabulous. I blogged about it if you’re interested: http://annamongan.com/2011/10/04/my-first-marathon-twin-cities-2011/
    I’ve been backwards and forwards on whether or not to enter again this year so I would just add more procrastination to your decision I think! You’re right, there are so many things to take in to account when taking on a marathon.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for posting your recap Anna! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience for your 1st marathon too. It’s making me want to sign up right this second. šŸ™‚

  4. taratru says:

    I say just do it!

  5. sweatykid says:

    Who cares if the plans fall through? If that happens, you’ll reevaluate and learn from it. In the meantime, you are excited about the option, so you should keep it open!!!

  6. Terzah says:

    I’ve heard great things about that race, and I know you could do a sub-4. I know what you mean about plans changing–I’m signed up for both Detroit and California International, but don’t know how either of those will pan out……I can’t wait to hear what you decide!

  7. Heidi Nicole says:

    TCM was my first marathon and while I hated every step of it that was my own fault, not that courses or the organizers. It really was a beautiful course, the crowd support was amazing {I want to say 2-3x’s more than Fargo} and it starts in the MetroDome with warmth and real bathrooms, can’t go wrong there! Basically, you should do it!

    I ran the ’08 10miler and the ’09 full and I’m pretty sure both years had relatively good running weather – overcast, maybe a few sprinkles, a tad chilly – but not scorching heat that always shows up for Chicago.

    I’m not ready to commit to being a speedy fast pacer for you but I’m pretty sure I’d make an excellent spectator – managed to see my cousin about 8 times when she ran Chicago – if I happen to be back home visiting that weekend!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for all the info! I know injury made it a rough race for you, but it’s good to hear you still enjoyed the course so much. I’m still on the fence about 26.2 thus fall though… Congrats again on Fargo!!

Leave a Reply

