Hey, Hey: Hay & Graduation

Hey readers! Yes, I’m still here, caring for cows in Minnesota.

I realize my blogging has turned more sparse over the past month or so, and I think it may stay that way for awhile.

Summer brings so much busyness, and I also feel at a loss for words sometimes. In my first year of blogging I felt I had so much to share. Each day I could describe a new occurrence at the farm, and you were getting to know me while I was getting to know you.

And I know some of you are pretty new readers…

So I encourage you to look back in my archives! I will still try to explain things and provide background as I go, but I don’t think I will ever have the sheer number of ideas and the drive and desire to write as I did when I first started Cow Spots and Tales. Who know? Maybe I’ll become a blogging machine again when winter comes. But until then.

In any case, I’m here now. So let’s get to the good stuff.

Our first hay cutting is just around the corner, and I think it will be cut, chopped, and safely covered beneath plastic and tires before the week is through. More details to come.

The cows are well, and I’ve got a few to showcase tonight. First, meet Porky. (Yes, I call her Porky.)

20120514-102359.jpg

She is a large and in-charge type of heifer, and she’s due on May 31 with her first calf.

She took a lot longer to get pregnant than normal, so she’ll be almost 2 1/2 years when she gives birth. I think that allowed her to grow extra large and round. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a look at her this winter (notice the frost).

20120514-102533.jpg

In the baby calf world we’ve got a lot of darlings, including a set of twins born today. We also have a black beauty that happens to have a rather unique tail. Part coon perhaps??

20120514-102701.jpg

20120514-102936.jpg

And my last pictures for the evening have nothing to do with cows. They are all about family. My youngest sister graduated from the University of Minnesota on Friday, and my whole family was there to celebrate.

It also marked a unique feat — 5 sisters all graduated from the same college. All gophers. My father is a U of MN grad too, so I think he felt the significance of the occasion more than any of us.

As we walked through part of campus (and massive construction) I started feeling homesick for my past college days. I loved this place.

Then JR reminded me that college is more than a place. It’s a TIME and a place. Even if I could go back it wouldn’t be the same.

So, I give thanks for my gopher days, and I’ll look ahead to the future with enthusiasm and optimism, as I know it holds many bright moments too.

20120515-075345.jpg

20120515-075425.jpg

20120514-104539.jpg

At least our eyes are both open in this one.

Congratulations to my baby sister! Class of 2012.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Crops and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hey, Hey: Hay & Graduation

  1. shelby says:

    You have FIVE sisters? Um…do you have any brothers? Wow, I didn’t know you came from such a big family!

    Congrats to your lil sis!

    • Lisa says:

      Sorry, I think my writing was confusing. My family is 5 girls, so I have 4 sisters. Still a big family though. ๐Ÿ™‚ And nope, no brothers.

  2. Terzah says:

    Congrats to your sister! I love the skunk tail on that cow.

  3. Congrats to your sis! GO GOPHERS!!!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Love the coon tail!

    I feel the same way when I talk to people in college – I miss going to school, but JR is probably right on…I miss the busy schedule combined with the carefee-eske lifestyle where being half broke was expected!

Leave a Reply

