Curious Cows

Greetings from rainy Minnesota. April showers indeed!

The last day of April was actually sunny, but these first days of May are filled with forecasts of rain, thunderstorms, and humidity. Temperatures might hit 80* today, so at least these are summery storms. 🙂

Saturday looks marginal — it might not rain — so I’ve still got my fingers crossed for good 1/2 marathon weather. Though if it gets above 70* some rain might be a nice cool down.

And honestly, it was a dry winter and early spring. Our fields of newly planted (and yet to be planted) crops are glad of all the moisture they can get. I just hope hail, tornados, and things of that nature stay away.

All continues well at the farm, and May is going to bring a busy month of new calves.

We had two heifers born yesterday before the storm really started, and they were safely transported to hutches before they even got wet.

New calves always create quite a stir in the cow barn. Most of the other cows want to get close. They look and smell and generally feel the excitement of the birth. (Kind of like women admiring a new baby — minus the smelling and licking!)

Some are sure the calf must be theirs, even if the real mother is busy washing said calf.

As long as we see mama in time to move her to her own pen for calving she doesn’t have to put up with too much. But, it still doesn’t stop the other cows from gawking!

20120502-091409.jpg

Running Tales

Sore. That has been the name of the game on and off since my PR half marathon effort. I’m feeling okay, but I think recovery from this was a little more than I bargained for.

“It’s just a half” I thought, and I figured a few rest days would have me good as new. But I’d never run a half even close to that fast before.

I did just over 7 miles on Saturday ending with a few at goal pace, and it felt tough.

So I took a few more rest days and then did another tempo yesterday — which felt better. I think one more easy run before race day will be enough. Logically I’m still in the same shape for this race as I was two weeks ago. It will just be a matter of winning the mental game and seeing how my body handles two longer races this close.

I know there’s people out there who race marathons multiple times per month, but that’s not me. Normally schedule, logistics, location, etc dictate I pick one big goal race for each training cycle.

Even 5Ks I usually only do 2 – 4 every year. I think this is also because if I’m going to race, I want to RACE. I strive for improvement, and if I don’t think I’m in shape to run well, why spend the $?

Certainly pacing someone or doing a race with friends can be different, but usually I’m racing solo. So I run to compete. With other runners, and mostly with myself.

I’ve worked too hard this winter to pass up this race, and I’m totally excited to see how it goes. Seeing my family will be great, and maybe they’ll even come to cheer me on. Who knows; that could be the extra push I need to run 1:53.

Whatever this weekend holds, I still feel good about breaking that 2 hour milestone. It makes me realize other goals, too, are very possible. I just have to believe and then go after them with a smart, dedicated plan.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Curious Cows

  1. bearrunner says:

    Looks like you are really getting a handle on this training business… I think we may see you in the Olympics soon! Great job on the progress…

    Cheers

  2. Terzah says:

    I’m very choosy about races, too (though not as choosy usually as I’m having to be right now!). I think it’s a wise approach if time goals are important. Sometimes I do miss doing a race every other weekend like I was doing for a while–that was just fun!

    • Lisa says:

      I know it. I think I could chill on my goal times for a few races, but then I’d want to have someone to go to them with. If I’m just going for the atmosphere & fun it seems somehow silly to go to the event solo. The time & money add up quickly too, so it’s hard to justify racing too often. 🙂

  3. Dana says:

    That picture is priceless!
    I’m excited for your next half marathon and I am sure that you’re going to PR again 🙂 I’m also sure that I’ll be sharing the same “soreness boat” that you’re in right now after my full on Sunday. I really want to push it and not let my head get in the way…let’s hope that happens!

  4. I’m also choosy about races – partly because of money but also because so much of my free time on the weekend ends up taken up by the race. You’re right about being in the same shape as before – it’s hard to believe when your legs feel heavy but you’ll do great! The mental game is more important now than ever. Hope it stays dry for that day!

    • Lisa says:

      It’s so true; races (especially longer ones) nearly take all day. I’d like to race more and maybe do a few more “just for fun” but I already have a hard time getting away for the races I do. Plus, it all costs $$. 🙂

  5. Rebecca says:

    Oh, I love that picture! So funny, everyone loves a new baby!

    Good luck on your race!

  6. taratru says:

    You’re going to do great! And that little calf is the cutest…my little one loves your pics, she says, “mooooooooooOOOOOOOOO!” 🙂

  7. Brit says:

    Good luck this weekend! I hope you get great weather!

Leave a Reply

