Updates and Such

We’ve had a lot of calves today, 5 so far. What might that mean?

Well, it probably means the predicted rain is on the way! Cows can sense the weather. Plus, they are herd animals. The way it’s been explained to me is that in the wild, a herd of cows will stop for a little while when a cow calves. It gives mom and baby a little time to rest, nurse, etc.

Cows will also stop and “hunker down” by a wind break or trees when a storm comes. So — cows tend to calve more often when a big storm is on the way. Then the herd is already taking shelter for the storm, and they don’t have to stop extra for the baby.

I’m not sure if this is exactly the full story, but I do know that just before a storm or weather change we almost always have more calves. Can’t argue with that, right?

What about a picture of these new babies?

Well, I did snap one of the new twin girls…

20120412-044408.jpg

… And they are every bit as sweet as they look.

What’s going on with the possible farm purchase blogged about last week?

We’re still looking. And thinking. And running numbers. The coming rain should give us a little more time to work on our offer, and hopefully we’ll have a decision soon.

If we do make a deal with the current owners, I know it will still be a long process of paperwork, inspections, and details. I’m sure any of you who’ve recently bought a house can relate.

What about this 1/2 marathon thing?

Well, the cows have actually been helping me focus in on my racing strategy!

Base Goal)

20120412-045230.jpg

I’m sticking to my guns on this; sub-2:00. I’ve done the workouts, I can hit the pace consistently, and I want to reach this goal.

1599 or 1 hour 59 minutes 54 seconds (.9 minutes) is my base goal.

Good day goal)

20120412-045636.jpg

It’s kind of hard to read, but her tag proclaims 1568, or 1:56:48.

In reality, most of my goal pace runs have hovered right around this 8:55 pace instead of the 9:09 pace that would give me a 1:59.

If I start out on 2-hour pace and feel good, I should be able to pick things up and average sub-9:00/miles for the race.

1:56-1:57 is definitely realistic if I have a good day.

Great day goal)

20120412-050728.jpg

If I wake up well rested on race morning. If my stomach feels good. If the weather is perfect for racing. If I’m free of aches and pains.

I just might go out with the 1:55 pace group.

And maybe I’ll hit that 1:54:30 that 1545’s tag proclaims.

I’ve been pondering over this decision for several weeks. Actually since I realized 8:45 pace isn’t as hard as it used to be.

I like starting near a pace group when they’re available because it’s an easy way to keep in check. Starting out slow enough is hard for me, as evidenced by the fact that in my last 1/2 I think I ran a positive split by almost 5 minutes. 😦

It’s not fun to crash and burn, which is another reason the 1:55 pace group scares me.

My dilemma is this. Do I go with the “safe” option and try to run just under 2:00, or do I take off at 1:55 pace to really see what I can do?

I feel I’m lucky this race even has a 1:55 group, but I also worry starting off even a few minutes too fast might cost me dearly.

I want to break 2:00 more than I want to break 1:55, so unless things feel almost perfect I’ll probably go with the more conservative start.

I’m up for your thoughts though!

Suggestions?

What’s up with this Minnesota weather?

I’m not sure. I feel like half of March was over 70*, and yesterday morning as I set off for my run it was 16*. I had to dig back out the running tights, but there was something nice about the crisp, cold air once I got warmed up.

Still, it’s April and I’m ready for the warmer mornings again!

Any last thoughts?

Why yes. I know this post is all over the place, but I want you to know I realize everything I’m wrestling with is a “first world problem.” A privilege.

To those of you who aren’t runners, I’m sure my diatribe over 5 minutes sounds insane. And maybe it is a little.

It’s still a goal I want to reach, but I know there’s no special award out there for running 13.1 miles in under 2 hours.

It doesn’t define my worth, and it won’t change my life. But I do think hobbies, goals, and athletic pursuits are still important.

As God says, there’s a time for everything. I know he gave me the ability to run, and I think he is pleased by our work and leisure. (if running is accurately called leisure. 🙂

And the house decision, the weather, the many calves?

They’re all blessings in their own way too!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Updates and Such

  1. Dana says:

    I love you how incorporated the cows into your goals — very clever! I always tend to hold back in the beginning of races for fear of crashing and burning at the end. My suggestion would be to start out at the 2:00hr pace and then when you’re feeling super halfway into it, you can pick it up and PASS the 1:55 group 🙂

    I’m also requesting pictures of our girl Etta!

  2. I also enjoyed the way you incorporated the cows into your race goals – very fun! I would definitely err to the more conservative side but when I feel good at a faster pace, I just go with it. The only times I’ve really crashed and burned have been the times when I can tell that I’m running too fast but refuse to slow down. This is how I’m approaching my half this weekend – running at whatever pace feels good (and hoping that pace is faster than my PR).

  3. Terzah says:

    I like Dana’s suggestion! Go out at 2 hour pace and PASS the pace group later. With good weather, I think you can do it. Good luck!!

    • Lisa says:

      I think this will probably be the plan, but it seems 5 minutes is a lot of ground to make up. Still, I know starting too fast is more dangerous than starting too slow.

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Love that you’ve timed out your goals with the cows! Have fun with the race! If I were you I’d start conservative because really, dying at the end seriously sucks. That way if you keep on feeling awesome you can pick it up and dominate! 🙂

  5. Anna says:

    Ha! Great way of using the cows to mark your goals! It sounds like your training has set you up to achieve your sub-2 hour goal. As the others said, I also like to err on the side of caution and speed up later if I feel good. I tried going out faster for my last 10 mile race and it ended up costing me….a lot!!! (Sounds like you’ve had a similar experience!). Good luck with the race!

Leave a Reply

