Overload

Overload. My brain is on overload.

Remember back in January when I shared my goals for the year with you?

I mentioned that we had been doing some hunting for a farm place with a decent house. Remember me saying our house has a hole in the living room floor and a tree branch for a shower curtain pole?

Yup, still does.

It’s home, but the problems with our current residence are just becoming more apparent. We’re hoping to find a small farm with animal barns that will help us build some equity and eventually work our way into buying the full home dairy (where we work now).

I know the housing market is a buyer’s dream, but the agricultural real estate market is pretty intimidating. Farm land is at historically high prices as food prices, energy prices, and other costs soar.

It’s just hard for young people to get started financially in today’s market. Not only do you need land and buildings, you need equipment, machinery and seed for your fields or animals for your barns. The average age of an American farmer is 57, and it’s not hard to see why. Many people can’t get access to the capital they need to get into the business.

Even a family farm is challenging. Often times it represents a couple’s life savings, so they must sell for a price that allows them enough to live on and retire. Other siblings also want a piece of the farm, and finances (and patience) can be stretched thin.

The government has numerous assistance programs for young farmers, but a purchase still has to make financial sense and meet credit requirements. Lots of time, patience, and paperwork is needed!

I’m not complaining about this; it’s just fact. Farming is a pretty major life decision, so in some ways I’m glad there are challenges that really make you examine if this is what you want to do.

Whoa, too much background. Anyway, in the last days we’ve become pretty serious about a possible purchase.

I’m dreaming about amortization schedules and cash flows as we try to work out the numbers. And I’m glad that in my previous life I was a college student who got an accounting degree. ๐Ÿ™‚

If we move forward this decision will change our lives drastically. Some changes would be good and others would be downright hard.

Spring planting will be early this year, so I know we’ll have to make a decision soon. I wasn’t going to blog about this in case it falls through (which it very well might), but I knew I would feel better if I wrote about it. And I do.

At least this decision has kept me from stewing too much about my upcoming race. My foot feels good, but I haven’t had time for a lot of miles. I’ve done a good easy run and a good tempo so far this week, and my legs (and brain) are ready for some long slow miles tomorrow.

It’s light mileage, but I’ve taken all of your good advice to go easy instead of overdoing it.

I hope you all have a wonderful, blessed Easter weekend. I’m going to try to focus my mind on the glories of this holiday and push the bombarding thoughts in my brain aside for a few days.

No matter what’s going on in your own life, I hope you can do the same.

Sometimes it’s the simple things that matter. A warm spring day. A new life. A loyal companion. A good-hearted husband.

20120406-044349.jpg

20120406-044418.jpg

20120406-044450.jpg

(We won’t tell them I posted this one…)

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Overload

  1. taratru says:

    Your shower curtain pole is a tree branch?!?! That’s…awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hang in there…things have a funny way of working out when you least expect it.

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    I can only imagine the stress that goes with finding something that fits your wants/needs and then making the numbers work. I’m freaking out just trying wrap my mind around how much we are going to be paying for a slightly larger apartment when we move this month – its terrifying! Good luck!

  3. Terzah says:

    Wow, and I get stressed at the thought of buying a measly house! Best of luck, Lisa!

    And that’s a sweet photo of your husband and puppy. :^)

  4. Buying a house is a big decision, I can’t even imagine a farm! Sounds like you’re being wise about it though – and remember that God is in control and He is determined to bless you. I will pray for everything to work out well.

  5. Pingback: Updates and Such | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

