Gu and other stuff *Giveaway*!

Q: Who wants free stuff?

A: Everybody, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Well the free stuff I have in mind looks a little like this…

20120404-085740.jpg

In the course of training for my first marathon last spring, I may have gotten a little overzealous. I just wanted to try different fueling products!

So I took advantage of a few sales, I got some free stuff, I bought some more stuff…

In my effort to spring clean (I have a small problem with clutter that drives me crazy) I’m trying to give away, donate, or throw things out right and left.

And these gels are still good – I promise!

I just took one last weekend, and it tasted the same as ever. I won’t say good because I don’t exactly love the stuff.

I’m keeping some of it, but I just don’t use that much while training for 1/2’s. I’m not sure when my next 26.2 will be, so I want to share with those of you who may really need some more gu.

I have a lot of vanilla gu and also quite a bit of various coffee and chocolate flavors. Also plenty of strawberry banana and lots of random stuff.

So tell me why you want it!

Leave a comment about your upcoming race(s). Let me know if you have specific flavor(s) you really want to win.

I’ll pick TWO random winners sometime on Easter Monday, April 9th and announce them right here on my blog. You’ll get an assortment of goodies, and I’ll try to include extra of any flavors you specify.

This giveaway is sponsored and paid for by me. Nobody’s giving me anything to give this stuff away. ๐Ÿ™‚

In the spirit of my “cow” blog, and because some of you may be visiting for the first time, I thought I better add in something dairy related. Especially because I’m giving away sugar and not cheese like normal.

I’ve featured her before, but here in color and in silhouette is Sugar, the cow.

20120404-113806.jpg

20120404-113839.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Gu and other stuff *Giveaway*!

  1. What a great idea!

    If you feel like shipping them out to the UK I’ll happily take them off your hands. I’ve got a few long-ish trail runs planned for the summer and would be quite keen to test out Gu seeing as it’s not really a major player over here.

    Great blog. And good looking cows.

  2. Kate says:

    Nice stash! GU is my favorite fuel. I’d love to take some of the chocolate, vanilla, or coffee flavors off your hands. My friends can’t stand them, but I think they taste like frosting. And who couldn’t use a little hint of “cupcake” on a double-digit run? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m training for a half in OH, followed two weeks later by a full in CO, possibly followed by a 10K in MI a week after that. Good fuel is vital. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Karen says:

    Training for the Green Bay Marathon, my second full marathon! I love the chocolate gels and tropical fruit blocks.

  4. Anne says:

    Oooh ooh pick me please!

    I would love the fuel booty because I am a po’ grad student and spending money on ONE gel or package of shot blocks is usually more than I spend on myself on any given day of the week :p That and after my 10k at the end of May, I start training for back to back to back (to back?) half marathons and a Tough Mudder thrown in there for good fun, and can definitely use the electrolyte support over the Summer and early Fall. Thank you!

  5. Dana says:

    I LOVE vanilla bean GU.
    I have been happily toting that flavor along with me for most of my long runs. I am even super excited that Vanilla and Choc Gu are the flavors being handed out on the course during the marathon.
    Way to pay it forward Lisa ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. jaclyn cleveland says:

    I am training for my second half in two weeks and ***insert reluctant grin*** my first marathon in winter (deciding between december/january)..eeeeekk. my first half marathon was 6 months ago and i didn’t fuel at all. i tried it this time once i got up to mile 7 or so and man what a difference i found. I have only tried two kinds the shot blocks and the cliff raspberry. both of which were tasty. i want to try others but i am very reluctant because i have heard that some can upset your stomach or just taste plain awful. with a marathon i know that they supply various types along the route and that i should be prepared for any flavor unless i carry my own.
    It’s very generous of you to be handing them out.

    • Lisa says:

      Fuel totally makes a difference. I agree some can be hard on the stomach. I love coffee, but the espresso gu is a bit much for me. At least this will give a few of you a chance to experiment with various fuels for free!

  7. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    Ooooo, guuuuu !! I haven’t tried gu, mostly because it’s thick, but i think I would give it a try if I didn’t have to pay for it. If I won, and didn’t like it, i’d pass on the generosity and give it away to someone else who could use it. ..I’ll need lots of gels this summer as i start to train for my first full marathon (eek!)

  8. Kamaile says:

    I like chocolate outrage and vanilla but will take whatever you have! I will soon start training for the Chicago Marathon. Thanks.

  9. Jennifer R says:

    I am just starting to train for a half and would love to try some different flavors or products.

  10. I love Gu. Totally my fuel of choice. I just finished the Trailbreaker half marathon in Waukesha and my next race is a half marathon in the Wisconsin Dells in the beginning of summer. I’ve never actually tried any of the fruity Gus (ha – that’s fun to say!) but I love the chocolate, peanut butter and espresso, which are the three I train with.

  11. Terzah says:

    OK, so on one level I’m probably not the clearest candidate to win the GU since I’m injured and not allowed to run right now. HOWEVER….I do have a fall marathon on the books that I am not giving up on and GU is one of the few things that don’t upset my tummy. Plus, I think it tastes good, sort of like mainlining icing. So I humbly request to be put in the running as well! :^)

  12. Sadlebred says:

    I love Gu. I love Peanut Butter, Vanilla, Mandarin Orange, Chocolate, Mint Chocolate, etc. About the only one I don’t like is the strawberry-banana. Oh, and expresso. My next race will be at the end of the month at Ft. Yargo State Park. Of course, it’s a mountain bike race. The distance for my division will be 22-25 mile depending on which way they run the course or if they include or cut out the “Monster Mile.”

  13. 2tritriagain says:

    Next Saturday is the first of 3 half marathons in 4 weeks! (It’s a local 39.3 series) Meanwhile, my training for a half Ironman in August kicks off on April 16th! There will be some smaller races thrown in there too! Not a fan of the Espresso… but LOVE the Strawberry Banana!!

  14. shivyrun says:

    I just tried GU for the first time the other weekend (peanut butter, yum!), and now I’m ready to try more flavors! I was always a bit frightened by GU and love my Jelly Belly sports beans, but I’m trying to expand. I’m training for the Marine Corps Marathon in October, my first marathon, and I know they have GU on the course, so I want to start testing over the summer.

  15. Samantha Hunter says:

    I’ve never tried true marketed fuels because I’m always afraid of spending money on it and then hating it. Right now I take the cheap-route and mix water/gatorade and keep some frozen grapes or clementine slices in my pocket – would LOVE to try some of these to see if they would help! I’m just now starting to “train” for a 1/2 or full if I decided to go for it, I was just a casual runner until something flipped in my brain ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Stephanie says:

    I used to not like Gu. Not sure why. Then I used it on my first ultra race and was hooked on it. My favorite flavor is the vanilla and any coffee flavors. Not a fan of the chocolate!!

    My next race may be a half marathon on the 14th of April. if I decide not to register, I am hoping my first post-baby race will be an easy 4.8 miles in August or a trail half in September.

  17. Tara says:

    I want it because apparently I’m some kind of weirdo for not ever fueling on long runs and I’m too damn cheap to go out and buy this stuff for myself not knowing if I’ll even like it. I’m pretty sure I would *not* like the chocolate or espresso flavors, but I’m game for anything else!

  18. Jenni says:

    I’m training for a 1/2 right now and have my heart set on running a full as a 25th birthday present to myself. I’ve been through a few GU and 1 PowerBar gel flavors and haven’t found one I liked yet. I’d love to try some more flavors!

  19. Amy Ramos says:

    ooohhh GU. I love them all! They have a speical place in my heart when I did my first half marathon two years ago.
    My next race is only a 4 mile one (the Great Race) but it is bittersweet. Three years ago (2009) I lost my mom to early onset Alzheimer’s (she was only 60). I signed up for that race three years ago not knowing my mom would pass away one week prior to the race. So every year, I have dedicated that race for her. Always has, always will.

  20. amysrunning says:

    Im training for three more half marathons this spring and my second full marathon in the fall, that gu would GREATLY be appreciated! Since theres nothing like 20 milers in the middle of August. I love vanilla bean gu, i dont leave home without it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. Allison says:

    I’m only training for my first 5k, but I still like to use Gu. I’ve been plagued by side cramps, so I no longer eat within 3 hours of a run. Half a Gu before a run gives me the energy I need to power through.

    • Lisa says:

      No need to say only; a first race of any kind is a big deal! I’ve heard other runners also say that most food doesn’t sit well in their stomach pre-run, but a gu is just right.

  22. Bree says:

    I really like shot blocks, but am a big fan of vanilla gu. I reminds me of frosting. I have a major sweet tooth!

  23. osulori says:

    If I’m not carrying Tropical Punch or Strawberry Shot Bloks, its vanilla or chocolate Gu…love them! Maybe its the frostinglike taste? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Either way, I’m training for the Glass City HM in 16 days (EEP!)…and I need to decide what fuel to use (because my usual Saturday AM MO of mixing Gatorade and water just takes too much time during a race).

  24. katilh says:

    I may or may not be guilty of occasionally having an espresso Gu when I don’t have time to grab a cup of coffee while chasing the girls ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m currently training for lots of things actually. I have a cross country 25K coming up (my longest race ever), trying to break 60 minutes in a 10K, my first sprint triathlon and a half marathon in Alaska!

  25. Oo, me, me! I have switched to gels from Shotbloks and actually love them (who knew?). The best flavors are Peanut butter and Chocolate cherry but I haven’t tried any that I didn’t like. As you know, I’m training for my first marathon and this would help me keep the costs of buying running fuel down.

    That cow looks amazingly sleek – like she’d be really fun to pet!

  26. Pingback: 2 weeks, “Spot”, Giveaway Winners | Cow Spots and Tales

  27. momofminion says:

    I’m training for the Leadville Marathon, a mountain trail run. I’ve never run up a mountain, or on a trail, so I’m sure it will be a hoot! I’m expecting it to take more than 6 hours, so I’m definitely going to be loading up on fuel. My personal favorite is mint chocolate Gu, but it’s pretty much impossible to find anywhere. Sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

