3 weeks to 1/2 marathon & Spot of the Week

Another week of training complete, and now it’s less than 3 weeks until race day.

In some ways I wish it would just hurry up and get here, but in other ways I’m nervous and want the day to hold off a while longer.

I think I’m as ready as I’ll ever be for this particular race though, so most of me just wants time to hurry along toward April 21st!

Enough with the race chatter; I’ve got a special spot this week.

This one is almost photo booth quality…

20120402-113842.jpg

…or at least pretty good for self photography!

This is 2295, and she’s one of those cows that appreciates an occasional pat or scratch behind the ears. She’s not super friendly, but she tolerates attention. 🙂

She does look a bit “wild” in this picture, so I thought I should include another one just for good measure.

20120402-114202.jpg

See, perfectly docile.

And now for the running.

It was a good week, but not a great week. I had an awesome speed session where I nailed 6 repeats of 800m in 3:45, and my long run – which I devoted a whole post to – was also encouraging.

On Wednesday morning I had the pleasure of running in cool, sunny conditions in Sioux Falls, SD. JR and I spent a quick overnight there for a dairy conference, and I was surprised by the beauty (and hills) I encountered during the 1/2 hour I found time to run.

Case in point:

20120402-114656.jpg

20120402-114725.jpg

20120402-114752.jpg

BUT, I simply did not hit the mileage I wanted. This week was supposed to be 30 miles, and then I’d cut back a little each week until race day.

I would have gotten closer to 30 miles if I’d done a few recovery miles yesterday, but with my foot still feeling a little off I decided to skip it.

I know a 1/2 doesn’t require a full taper necessarily, but I want to have fresh legs for the race. But now I’m wondering if I should strive for 30 miles this week instead? Ah- the problems of a runner…

March 26 – April 1

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 5.5 miles in 48:51 with 6 x 800m each 3:45 (7:30 pace) (TM)

Wednesday – 3.35 miles easy in 34:04 @ 10:10 pace (outside, Sioux Falls)

Thursday – 2.02 miles easy in 20:19 @ 10:04 pace (outside)

Friday – rest

Saturday – 13.16 miles long in 2:06:14 @ 9:35 pace, last 3 miles about race pace (outside)

Sunday – rest

Total = 24 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 3 weeks to 1/2 marathon & Spot of the Week

  1. Dana says:

    I LOVE the cow pics 🙂
    I can’t believe your 1/2 Marathon is so close!!! Even though you’re not hitting the mileage you want, I still think that the miles you are getting in are quality so don’t fret. I see a huge PR in your future!
    I’m feeling slightly less prepared for my big day in 5 weeks….eeeekkk!!!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    When I was actively training, i paid less attention to the number of miles and more attention to the quality. If you look at my training i stayed between 20 – 26 miles each week. I always felt like that was enough mileage for the goals I was trying to meet. Maybe more miles each week would have resulted in a better PR? Who knows. I don’t think i’ve ever hit 30 miles.

    As far as tapering – my training is pretty unconventional in that I don’t follow a plan – i just do whatever I want to do. I only ever tapered the week before the race. I ran 3-4 miles 3x that week before the race. 2 weeks before the race was just like any other week during training. 3-5 miles 3-4x/wk, and a long run on the weekend. 10 -11 miles. — but since you are having the foot pain you definitely have to factor that in to how much you train during the next few weeks.

    • Lisa says:

      I appreciate all the info; it’s helpful to hear what you do. I think for my previous 1/2’s I knew I wasn’t getting in enough miles, and this time around I just really didn’t want mileage to be my “weak link.” And the foot… I honestly think I’m over stressing. It feels a bit weird, but not really painful. It seems like I always feel more little aches and pains before a goal race, and I just freak myself out. I will still be careful of it though!

  3. Terzah says:

    I think it sounds like you are doing great. Remember what they say about it being better to 10% undertrained than 5% overtrained (and especially since you’re concerned about your foot). It sounds like your workouts have been *great* and I think your PR will be huge.

  4. taratru says:

    You’re going to rock your half, taper or no. Good luck!

  5. Cassie says:

    She “tolerates” attention! That is too funny! What a pretty cow, though!

    I’m always amazed by the things runners think about and analyze and how everybody has a slightly different take on things. So interesting…..

    Hope your foot stops feeling wierd! Hope you find a good balance between your running goals, your training schedule, and what happens in real life!

    • Lisa says:

      I love this comment. 🙂 Perspective is so important… Certainly running is part of my life, but I know there are far bigger things out there!

  6. I think you’ll be fine with the training you’ve done so far. The worst thing would be to injure your foot by trying to squeeze the miles in. You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

