Unofficially Awesome. Now, to stay healthy…

Greetings from Minnesota. The forecast yesterday said today would bring a high temp of 71*, but the thermometer saying 49* at 4 pm makes me think we’re not quite going to get there!

It’s okay; I know there will be warmer days ahead.

Besides, I think the cows and even the calves at the farm appreciate the cool. Like this little lady:

20120331-044127.jpg

I don’t believe I’ve posted her picture before, and she’s a pretty fun looking calf. If you look closely, you’ll see “2.14” written above the main number on her tag.

Yup, this red calf was born on Valentine’s day!

The cooler temps worked out well for my running agenda too. 13.1 was the plan, and I was right on the money.

I also stayed with my rough plan to run a few easy miles and pick it up slowly to end at goal race pace. I got nervous during that last mile when I saw my overall pace dip below 9:40.

Was I screwing up my long run by going too fast?

I hope not, and I always think it’s good to end a run fast. It teaches your body to do that in races, when you really are exhausted at the end.

The real reason this pace scared me is it’s uncharted territory. My 1/2 PR is a 2:12, or 10:05 pace.

I’ve trained better and smarter for this race than ever before, and my last 1/2 was 2 years ago this spring. But it still boggles my mind that a major, albeit unofficial, PR could go this well.

Aside from two small things of course. 🙂 My hands were freezing, and I spent about 10 miles wishing I’d brought gloves.

I also had a bit of tenderness in my foot, around the “big toe joint” (just below where it connects to the foot) during and after the run. It’s not a sharp pain or anything, but I’d appreciate any advice if you’ve dealt with that. Mostly I’ve iced it, and I’m trying not to worry.

Maybe it was just from a more hilly course than normal? I know my hills are probably pretty pathetic to those of you who are mountain dwellers, but this is definitely more up and down than my normal runs.

It was worth it though, to run all the way around the lake.

Even though I’ve still got 3 weeks to race day, I am already starting to reflect on training. I want to get in some quality miles over the next few weeks, but I know most of it won’t change my fitness very much.

The real goal now is to stay healthy! For half marathon #1 I was battling a chest cold, and for half #2 I was on antibiotics to get over strep throat.

And somehow I avoided illness for my marathon last spring.

I know training can wear down your body and immune system, but I’m hoping smarter training this time helps. I also need to make time for rest, good food… and I maybe take some nasty vitamins.

I don’t know why, but I think the coating on most vitamins is awful, and I have a hard time remembering to take them. Do they really even help?

If anybody has a favorite I’d welcome your suggestions.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! Any big plans for Saturday night?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unofficially Awesome. Now, to stay healthy…

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Nice, solid run! Great job on picking up the pace those last few miles – you already know I’m a big fan of pushing the pace the last several miles of a long run!

    You also know that your run is way hillier than any run i’ll ever do – Although, tomorrow I am headed down to Clearwater beach to run on the causeways – that should be real interesting. Hopefully I don’t die.

  2. sweatykid says:

    Isn’t it nuts to be running times in training that you used to struggle to run in races?! I agree it can feel weird when that happens… but once you get your head around the idea, you’ll feel so confident going into the race. You’ve reached a new level of fitness, and it definitely indicates good things to come at the half!

    • Lisa says:

      I hope so! After reading your latest post I definitely feel inspired to believe I’ve got my goal “in the bag.” I just need to go out and run the race I KNOW I can. Congrats on the sub-40:00 10K. Awesome!!

  3. Terzah says:

    You are doing so great. I think finishing long runs fast is a great idea–maybe not every one, but it sure is a boost in confidence that I think will help you on race day.

    • Lisa says:

      True, true. I’ve definitely tried to keep most of my long runs slow and train smart, but this was definitely a confidence boost. 🙂

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Sounds like officially awesome to you! Looks like a great run with a seriously solid finish! You’re going to have an awesome race! 🙂

  5. Those hills look pretty brutal so I’d say you did a great job on that run. I wouldn’t worry too much about your foot pain unless you keep getting it during your runs. Something that I’ve started doing to minimize foot pain is to rub Body Glide on the outside of my big toe/ball of my foot. That’s usually where I feel slight friction with my socks. It helps a lot!

    About the vitamins, I don’t take any because I eat a lot of fruits and vegetables and the differences/options intimidate me. But I know other people who swear by their vitamins – I think SkinnyRunner and HungryRunner Girl take them. You could always try taking some and see if it makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

