4 weeks until race day & Spot of the Week

It was 32* when I got to the farm this morning. Probably normal for March, but it felt chilly considering the morning temps have been in the 50’s lately.

I’m seriously lacking inspiration today. I have no interesting pictures, and I don’t feel capable of dreaming up some creative, descriptive piece of writing.

But, I’ve got to have a “spot!”

Where to turn when you don’t know where to turn?

“All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11: 27-30

I’m tired of carrying around my own worry and doubt and stress. I’m ready to hand over these burdens to Christ.

The “catch ” of course, is that I must take up his yoke instead.

Do you know what a yoke is? Think Oregon Trail. It’s a large and cumbersome apparatus that harnesses oxen together to a cart.

It sounds heavy and tiresome, but the Lord promises his yoke is light. And being yoked with Him is far better than trying to go it alone.

In reality, His yoke will set me free from my worry and stress and even my sin.

No matter how tough things may feel at a specific moment, I know I can just stop and recommit things to God. He won’t reject or turn me away.

It’s hard to let go of the reins and give God control. I do know from experience that when I can trust God’s way, blessings are sure to follow.

Now I feel a little like I’m composing a sermon, so that’s probably enough reflection on Matthew 11. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the running jazz:

March 19 – March 25

Monday – 3.1 miles in 30:00 @ 9:41 with 1 easy, 1.1 @ 8:57, 1 easy (TM)

Tuesday – 3.27 miles easy in 32:33 @ 9:57 (outside)

Wednesday – rest

Thursday – 4 miles fartlek, not timed (outside)

Friday – 9 miles in 1:24:01 @ 9:20 with 3 x 2 miles @ 8:57, 8:57, 8:55 (TM)

Saturday – rest

Sunday – 4.24 miles easy in 41:38 @ 9:50 (outside)

Total – 23.6 miles

I felt awesome today as I did my easy run outside in about 40 degrees.

It felt good to be back in long sleeves as I moved through the late-morning cool.

I’m also excited that race season is getting started here in Minnesota. At least two local 5K races are happening between now and 1/2 marathon day, so I may take advantage of the chance to race.

If I do, I could race 1 week or 2 weeks before the 1/2. Thoughts?

Wishing you all a great week!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 4 weeks until race day & Spot of the Week

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great running week, you are gonna nail your run!

    cheers

  2. Anna says:

    Oh it’s so much colder this week! I’m breaking out the warm running gear again – no shorts and vest today!
    Your running week looks really strong!

  3. Great job! I think you should do whichever 5K you’d rather do – the one with the cuter shirt, or better medal, or nicer course. I can think of benefits for 2 weeks before, and 1 week before. You probably know your body (and schedule) better.

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    I thought it was chilly this morning too…although it was about 50 here. I’m spoiled!

    Sounds like you got some great runs in and I’d be the crazy person running both 5K’s although my bank account would hate me!

  5. I personally wouldn’t do an all out 5K a week before your big half marathon, but I’m not sure if that is the best advice for everyone. Two weeks sound good though. I look forward to hearing how you did!

    • Lisa says:

      Yeah, I’m thinking the same. I’m actually starting to question the wisdom of racing a hard 5K 2 weeks out too, so we’ll see what I feel like. Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

