9 Miles

What’s your idea of a rockin’ Friday night?

How about a date with the treadmill? πŸ™‚

After chores last night my husband met some friends for an impromptu guy’s night, which left me free to make my own plans.

Normally I don’t run at night because logistically it doesn’t work well. We finish at the farm sometime between 7 and 9, and we’re usually starving for supper as soon as we can whip something up. I also admit to being tired at day’s end, and running doesn’t always sound appealing.

Last night though, perhaps because I was thinking I wouldn’t have time for a long run this weekend, I felt like running. My husband’s plans meant I could go to the gym without feeling guilty for leaving him home alone on a Friday night, so that sealed the deal.

I’d luckily eaten a large afternoon snack yesterday, so I wasn’t starving. Some toast & jam was a perfect pre-run morsel, along with Gatorade.

By 9:00 pm I was jogging along on the treadmill when it occurred to me how boring it was. Easy pace is just awful on the treadmill.

I think I’ve come to like speedwork on this machine because it’s hard to be truly bored when your muscles are burning and you’re fighting for every 1/4 mile.

I remembered a workout I’d read in an old Runner’s World a few days ago I wanted to try. It gave goal workouts to hit before various race distances. The 1/2 marathon workout was to run 3 x 2 miles at goal 1/2 pace with something like 1:30 recovery, 3 weeks prior to race day.

I’m 4 weeks out, so close enough.

I didn’t feel particularly great, but I didn’t feel terrible either. I decided I owed it to myself to give this a go.

But first, I needed to find something decent on TV to distract me! My music was down to 10% battery (poor planning on my part), and listening to a whir for the next hour+ wasn’t my idea of fun.

I settled on The Lion King — which made me feel like a major dork — but it did keep me entertained.

In the midst of the first 2 mile repeat the pace felt manageable, but harder than it should. I was struggling, and I debated whether 2 x 2 miles would be enough.

I took a few quick seconds to stretch my hamstrings during recovery one, otherwise I kept up a slow jog.

Repeat two wasn’t much better. Once The Lion King got over I settled on Friends, but I just couldn’t get into the storyline.

I gave up and switched to the news as I prepared to tackle repeat number three.

I had picked 8:57 as goal pace, and I’m still hoping that’s realistic.

I was flat out tired as I started the last 2 miles, but I did get that extra burst once I knew I was nearing the end. I cranked the pace up one notch for the last .5, and then I slid into an easy cool down jog until I hit 9 miles.

I went back into the main gym, where I was not the only weirdo working out on Friday night, to stretch and stretch some more.

I still feel kind of ridiculous having done this workout inside in the midst of beautiful weather, but at least I know I kept the pace honest.

I should back up and add that I finally got my results back from the clinic. Blood work is normal, and I’m no longer as freaked out that something serious is wrong.

I really appreciate the feedback yesterday, and I have been trying to monitor how I feel to see if it could be a food allergy.

As I’m paying more attention to my body and doing research though, I have a feeling it may be an ulcer. No fun, but not the end of the world. My fatigue doesn’t really fit with that, but feeling crappy and worrying about feeling crappy just might be tiring me out!

At least this last workout has reignited my training confidence. I wish it would have felt a little easier, but I still completed it.

Runners, give me your thoughts. Does this workout sound like a good indicator of whether I can hit my goal pace?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 9 Miles

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I know nothing about pacing but pumping out 9 miles on a treadmill = freaking awesome! I give you a ton of credit for that! Hopefully you figure out whats up with feeling off soon! {no help there either…sorry!}

  2. sweatykid says:

    What a great run in the midst of feeling so crummy. I agree that treadmill runs are particularly interminable when you have to go slowly — picking the pace up for some repeats helps so much. Hope you figure out this weird “offness” soon!

  3. Terzah says:

    I think you will be fine for your race. That pace will feel much easier when you are tapered (and not feeling crappy–hope that passes soon).

  4. I just read an article about the idea behind Yasso 800s – the speed at which you can run 10 x 800 is the speed at which you can run a marathon. It’s not exactly what you did but saying that your 800 would’ve taken you about 4:00 each, you’d be in 4:00 marathon shape. I don’t know if you can adjust for a half marathon, but putting that time into the McMillan calculator, it says you’d run a 1:53 half… πŸ˜‰ So I say yes, you’ll reach your goal. Great job on cranking out the 9 miles on a Friday night!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the analysis. πŸ™‚ Maybe I should try to do some Yasso 800’s this week and see how things go. I know that no workout can predict all the things that can go right or wrong on race day, but it feels good to know my training should at least put me in the ballpark.

Leave a Reply

