6 Weeks & Ears of the Week

Greetings from sunny Minnesota!

As I alluded  to in my last post, the running week came out okay after all. But first…

2525 is one of those cows I always notice. Whether I see her walking from the parlor or up at the bunk eating, she always makes me smile.

I think it’s her giant, fuzzy ears!

See the resemblance?

Her tags just seem to get lost in the length of those ears. I also think she’s pretty proud of them too. 🙂

As a reminder, the invitation to all of you to submit something for “Spot of the Week” is still open. Email me at cowspotsandtales@gmail.com with your stories, photos, or ideas.

March 5 – March 11

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 4.3 miles easy in 43:34 @ 10:08 (outside)

Wednesday – rest

Thursday – 3.6 miles tempo in 30:24 @ 8:26 (outside)

Friday – rest

Saturday – 11.1 miles long run in 1:49:55 @ 9:54, last 3 miles about 9:30 (outside)

Sunday – 3 miles easy/recovery, untimed (outside)

Total – 22 miles

I broke one of my rules this week by piling 1/2 of my weekly mileage into the long run. I didn’t intend it that way, but I managed to take 3 rest days instead of just 2.

I really wanted that long, confidence-boosting run, and the weather was perfection. I felt pretty drained by the end of those 11 miles, but I felt great during my recovery miles on Sunday. I’m hoping that’s a good sign.

I didn’t hit the treadmill once this week, which is probably why my week day mileage is a little lower than I’d like. I’m still feeling sluggish in the morning and sleeping through my alarm way more than I’d like. I’m hoping I can conquer it by getting some extra sleep, hydrating well, and increasing calories.

No — I’m still not counting those calories. I’m just eating whatever and whenever, trying to get enough carbs for energy when I’m working and some extra protein and fats along the way.

I don’t think I could be deficient in iron because of my meat intake, but who knows? Maybe some other vitamin or mineral? A nondescript virus? I just feel “out of sorts” so I suppose I’ll have to do more investigating if things don’t even out soon.

All in all I’m happy with the week and looking forward to more good running weather next week. 6 weeks until race day!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 6 Weeks & Ears of the Week

  1. Runblondie26 says:

    Haha, cute picture of 2525. Starting of my Monday with a smile.

    Even a slight sleep deficit make me feel worn down and awful. Keep eating well and hopefull the extra zzz’s will make a difference. Nice pace on your long run!

  2. Terzah says:

    I hear you on the sleep deficit–part of the problem with spin class is I *have* to show up at a certain (early) time and I *have* to factor in the stupid driving-to-the-gym time as well. With the convenience of running, I could snooze a little and still get it done. I’m so bad at going to bed early enough–I blame my husband–I kinda like him, and he’s a night owl, so I stay up late to talk to him after the kids go to bed (late for me being past 9 p.m.).

    Love “the Spot”!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Sounds like a solid week of running and a great long run! The past few days I’ve definitely reverted to my college days of no sleep…but I’m not functioning nearly as well as I did back then. Go figure.

    Love the ears of the week!

  4. Anna says:

    What a great week of running! I see you’re back on track – it looks like a week of taking it a bit easier paid off! Mornings are a sluggish time of day for me too….tough because that’s when all the races are!

Leave a Reply

