2 months and 40 days

Greetings from snowy Minnesota!

It’s been a long time since I’ve said that, but it actually is white here. We got several inches yesterday, and it’s a fresh facelift compared to the drab browns we’ve been looking at most of 2012.

20120221-045905.jpg

Our little Christmas Eve calf is almost camouflaged!

20120221-050108.jpg

So — anybody have special plans for Fat Tuesday? Are pancakes are the menu tonight?

Not us, but I was thinking I may attempt some sort of jambalaya if I have the right ingredients at home.

It may sound odd, but I’m also pretty excited for the start of Lent.

Maybe excited isn’t the right word. I’m looking forward to it. Lent is a somber time in the church calendar, but it’s also a good time for reflection.

I try to take these 40 days each year to examine myself, reflect on where I’m at, and listen to what and where God wants me to be.

No — I don’t hear an audible voice when I listen for God. But I feel things. Or sometimes I may hear the voice of a friend or family member telling me something I need to hear.

I’m honestly confused and overwhelmed about several parts of my life right now, so this Lent I need to slow down and open my heart.

Answers may not come right away, but sometimes that part of the plan.

A tangible for me for FORTY days will be the absence of chocolate in my diet.

I haven’t given it up for several years, so I think it’s time. I’m not doing all sweets. For one, I can never decide where to draw the line. Two, chocolate is in many of the sweets I really like.

I suppose people having different reasons for choosing a Lenten discipline, but for me, it’s a reminder of the season. Whenever I consciously realize I can’t have chocolate, it’s an opportunity to focus my thoughts on the Lord and the great gift of salvation.

Running Tales

So I explained the 40 days, but what about the 2 months?

Today is 2 months until race day. Hopefully 2 months from today I will own a 1/2 marathon time that starts with 1.

Today’s workout was a killer. Maybe I’m just tired or worn down, but after the first 800 I was worried I wouldn’t make 5 more.

I did survive, and I even kept the pace honest until the end. 6 x 800m on the treadmill @ 7:30 pace (3:45 each).

I got in a total of 6.2 miles today and realized the 55 minutes it took me is well faster than my 10K PR.

It’s always fun to see small signs of progress. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Christian Reflections, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2 months and 40 days

  1. Jess says:

    I’m still trying to decide what specifically to do for Lent this year. Something. I’d better decide fast!

  2. Brit says:

    It is awesome that you broke your 10K PR in a training run. I have no doubt that you will crush that 1:xx half goal!

    Chris was in MN yesterday and mentioned the snow. I thought of you being outside in it. I have a lot of respect for you doing your job day in and day out no matter what the weather is.

  3. runblondie26 says:

    I’m impressed you can do you speedwork on a treadmill. I feel like i need to hold on to the handrails when I crank the speed up that high. You’re going ot have a great race. It’s amazing you have the energy to train considering how much labor you put into your job.

    • Lisa says:

      I used to be terrified I would fly right off when I cranked the speed too high. Sometimes I still feel a tad out of control, but I’m much more used to it. Practice makes perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Terzah says:

    Your running is going so well!! I can’t wait to see how this race pans out for you.

    It sounds like we’re doing the same thing for Lent, though I am trying to eliminate all sweets. There’s just a lot of creep with me with any sugar at all–I do get a lot out of the spiritual side of the sacrifice, but I admit I’m also doing it to eliminate cravings as only a cold turkey approach can do for me. :^)

  5. I gave up chocolate one year for Lent. This year, I’m going to adopt more disciplined eating overall. I think it will be just as hard. Good luck! Hope you find some answers.

  6. Cassie says:

    Confusing, overwhelming aspects of life are never fun. I pray that you find some peace during this season.

    Thanks for your words on Lent. Great thoughts. I’m not giving anything up this year specifically for Lent, but am thinking about different ways to teach my kids the meaning and thought behind this season.

    And Thanks for the card you sent in the mail! In this cyber age, it’s always a treat to see something other than a bill in the mail. : ) I appreciate your words!

  7. bearrunner says:

    You will do it! Gotta train like you wanna run the race than race day will be a piece of cake!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

