In time for Valentine’s Day, a little Sugar

Happy Valentine’s Day from Minnesota!

I know, I know. You can’t escape the references anywhere, can you?

Early this morning I opted to put pork ribs and sauerkraut in the crockpot. I didn’t specifically think about what day it was.

So I’m fairly certain that all of you, single, married, or otherwise, will be having a more romantic meal than us tonight.

Maybe I can find a wine to pair with kraut? πŸ™‚

Suggestions welcome.

In other news, we’ve had one baby girl born so far today. She was already dry, fluffy, and nestled into a jacket when I saw her this morning.

20120214-063732.jpg

My real Valentine cow though, is this girl…

20120214-064027.jpg

Sugar, the cow.

We spent a little quality time together as she sat backward in her stall, which she always does.

Please ignore my Rudolph-colored nose. From November – April my nose seems to run like a faucet no matter what I do to avert it.

Running Tales

Circuit training tales would be a more appropriate title today. My bootcamp class is on break for February, and this morning I decided I’d give the 6 a.m. circuit training a try.

I sometimes feel like I’m “wasting” a running day by doing a class, but I know that’s silly. Serious strength and core work is rather lacking in my exercise life, and this class gave plenty of both.

Actually. It kicked my butt.

You’d think I’d have a strong lower half as a runner, but my hamstrings, quads (and back and arms) are all telling me they’re going to be sore tomorrow.

I suppose that means tomorrow will be a rest or easy day, and I can tackle some speedier stuff on Thursday.

I did do a cool down run after class got over, and it’s amazing how easy – even comforting – the treadmill can feel after a hard and unfamiliar effort.

“Comfort” and “treadmill” in the same sentence… who would have thought?

Hope you all have a great evening. Enjoy those chocolates or wine or both. No matter if you are like me and picked up your own chocolates. πŸ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In time for Valentine’s Day, a little Sugar

  1. Terzah says:

    I love that you got your own chocolates. I wasn’t supposed to have any–I specifically told my husband not to get me any (he knows I love them). And then I arrived at work and let’s just say the trough was overflowing. Back to my healthy eating resolutions tomorrow, I guess. Sigh. At least the running comes easy.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • Lisa says:

      I do have to give my H some credit. He got me a lovely box of Godiva for Christmas (and I think that was the fancy candy budget for awhile. πŸ™‚ ) I just picked up some snickers for us to share… and I made a cake…

  2. taratru says:

    After a too-hard lifting class (after a two-week hiatus from it), I decided to stave off the soreness with red velvet cupcakes. Because, you know…it helps. πŸ™‚

  3. Brit says:

    Sometimes I feel the same way about cross training days; like they are wasted. Such a silly feeling because that is anything but true!

  4. bearrunner says:

    It will never hurt to do strength training or core… The core does a lot for running… I love the cow pics πŸ™‚

    cheers

  5. I’m always amazed at how the body can adapt to familiar motions and then freak out with something new. Good to keep it guessing!

  6. Anna says:

    I love the ache that new training brings….does that sound a little sadistic? Sometimes it can take a couple of days to get over a new bicep workout or extra core work but there’s something quite satisfying about the pain. I know I’ve worked hard if I can hardly move the next day! 😁

    I forgot to pick up my own chocolates and had to make do with the kids’ candy from school instead!

  7. I never thought I would comment that a calf is pretty cute.. but she is! You grow ’em cute!

    And V-day dinner around here was left over beans and quinoa. With two kids. It was very romantic.

    • Lisa says:

      Thank you; glad you like her! Maybe your maternal instincts are clouding your judgement & making her cuter? πŸ˜‰ Definitely a romantic evening. πŸ™‚

  8. Heidi Nicole says:

    Back on our family farm I had a favorite cow too – her name was Itch, partly because she was always up for a good itch/scratch and partly because she was a complete beeyotch to everyone except for me.

    I’m quickly realizing that although I can run X miles without dying I am seriously lacking in muscle strength! Seriously! Its pathetic how little it takes to make my quads or calves just quiver when snowboarding…should probably work on some strength training!

Leave a Reply

