10 Weeks to Go & Spot of the Week

Greetings from Minnesota! After a cold and windy Saturday, Sunday has been much more mellow and sunny.

A good thing because I finally got away from the treadmill and got outside for a few easy miles.

Yes, it’s true. Saturday was a chilly, windy, super- busy at the farm day, so I wimped out and did my long run before daybreak on the treadmill. I hope the long indoor miles are good for mental toughness!

Before I give you the running stats…

My inbox is decidedly vacant of any submissions, so you get more of my musings this week. If you have anything you’d like me to consider sharing please remember my inbox is always open – cowspotsandtales@gmail.com

“Heading West”

Today as I covered 3 easy miles outside I got to thinking maybe the routine stuff I see when I run at the farm might make an interesting “spot.” The landscape looks pretty brown and dry – strange for February around here.

When I head west, the first place I approach has 2 very vocal dogs – I think I’ve mentioned them before. When I first started running here I was a bit terrified of them, but I soon learned they’re all bark and no teeth. They don’t even get too close to me; they just make a lot of noise.

It seems the older brown dog is smart enough to keep his younger counterpart off the road when cars approach.

I still don’t think it’s ideal that dogs run out at me, but the country is the country. It may seem crazy if you’re used to city laws and dogs always within chain-link fences, but out here everybody’s dogs mostly run free. Some better behaved than others. ๐Ÿ™‚

And here’s my 1 mile tree. I know I’m not the only one who has landmarks for various distances, right?

Last, but not least, the large hole of mysterious origin that greets me on my return east. I’ve got to be sure my mind doesn’t wander too far until AFTER I’m past this guy.

Silent & deadly...

The brown winter does have us all a little worried about the massive amounts of snow that could still be in store for March or April…

Feb. 6 – Feb. 12

Monday- Rest

Tuesday- 5.2 miles with middle miles @ goal 1/2 pace 8:57 (TM)

Wednesday- 3.1 miles easy @ 10:00 (TM)

Thursday- 3.8 miles with 2 x 1 mile @ 8:13, 8:00 (TM)

Friday- Rest

Saturday- 10.05 miles @ 10:05 with last mile about 9:40 (TM)

Sunday- 3 miles easy/recovery @ 10:30 (outside!)

Total – 25.2 miles

10 weeks to go!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 10 Weeks to Go & Spot of the Week

  1. Terzah says:

    I used to love to run on the country roads around where my dad (used to be my grandma) lives in North Missouri, but the dog thing was so bad the last time I did it that I don’t know if I’ll do it again. Because unless you live there yourself, you don’t know the truly mean ones from the ones that are just loud. I love dogs, but I don’t want to be bitten.

    You’re going to do great in your race!!

  2. Wow, I admire your ability to do 10 miles on the treadmill! Great job on getting your miles in.

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Way to take on the treadmill! I’d go crazy doing that – but at least it let you get your goal miles in spot on! Speaking of spot on…I’ve been trying to think of a spot for you but so far everything I come up with is super long winded and more like a novel than a spot. I’ll work on that! ;P

  4. Jess says:

    I’m afraid, too, that we’re in for a doozy of a late winter storm. My husband said something about 60-days after a fog? Well, we had thick fog for most of a week. If that’s true… it’s gonna be a bad one.

    Love your 1 mile tree. Visual markers are good.

Leave a Reply

