11 weeks to go & “Spot” of the Week

Greetings from Minnesota.

It was a beautiful day of mid-30’s and sunny here on super bowl Sunday.

Tonight you’re really in for a treat…! {insert semi-sarcastic smile here}

I’ve decided it may help my training and my sub-2:00 half marathon goal to chronicle my weekly running here on the blog.

But because someone else’s miles and splits aren’t all that exciting (and because I know plenty of non-runners follow my blog too) I dreamed up something to keep the mileage posts interesting.

I’m going to feature a “Spot” of the week.

What, you may ask, is a spot of the week?

Well… I’m still working out the specifics.

It may be a little something I’ve written or it could be a photo or even a funny joke.

And here’s the really neat part. I think it can also be something someone else creates.

Maybe you have a photo or story you’d like to share? Email it to me, and I will definitely consider including it as a future “spot.”

I realize I may get no response on this, but I thought I’d give it a try. Maybe you guys will flood my inbox. šŸ™‚

If not, that’s okay too. I will just try to feature something unique each week.

Just a little fun thing each week to break up the monotony of a list of training runs.


(And yes, this is a calf here on our farm that I photographed.)

And now for the running stuff.

Jan. 30 – Feb. 5

Monday – 3 miles easy @ 9:21 (TM), TRX class
Tuesday – Rest
Wednesday – 6 miles speedwork (2 x 800 @ 8:00, 2 x 800 @ 7:53, 1 x 800 @ 7:47, 1 x 400 @ 7:30, 1 x 800 @ 9:01- goal 1/2 pace) (TM)
Thursday – 2 miles easy, not timed – maybe 10:00 pace? (outside)
Friday – 4 miles with warm, 2.25 @ goal 1/2 pace, cool (TM)
Saturday – 8.56 miles including 5K race in 23:10 (7:28 pace) (outside)
Sunday – rest

Total – 23.6 miles

Ta-dah! A “good for me” running week. 11 weeks until race day.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 11 weeks to go & “Spot” of the Week

  1. Jena says:

    Nice job! A very solid week of training! Maybe I’m alone, but I like looking at other people’s splits..

    What is your HM goal pace? Are you shooting for a specific sub 2 number or just anything sub2?

    • Lisa says:

      Good question. I know I’ll be happy with 1:59:59 or better, but I think 8:59 pace is just under a 1:58 – which seems do-able at this point. We’ll see as training progresses!

  2. Jess says:

    What a funny looking little calf! Hee hee!

  3. Terzah says:

    With that 5K time you should be a shoe-in for you sub-2 half!
    I love your cow photos. And if I can think of anything for the Spot I’ll send it your way. I’m not very arty though. I was just telling my husband I hope they don’t make me do anything crafts-y next year when we have to start putting in volunteer hours at our kids’ new school…..

    • Lisa says:

      I’m not too artsy either – which is why I’ll happily welcome submissions. šŸ™‚ I should add that they don’t have to cow related at all. My first “spot” just happens to be.

  4. Anna says:

    In a nerdy way, I’m going to love following your training weeks since we’re heading for the same goal! It looks like you’re bang on target for sub-2 hours. What a great training week you had. Love the “spot” too!

  5. Pingback: Chilly Spot of the Week 1 | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

