Holy Cow!

I’ll just skip the pleasantries and the suspense.

23:10.

Holy cow.

7:30 pace feels fast when I do 800 meter repeats. Mile repeats feel hard at 8-minute miles.

I’m a runner who was thrilled to crack the 8:00/mile barrier for 5K this past fall.

23:10 is 7:28 pace.

Am I capable of that?

At 1 mile I saw 7:33, and I though I’d better reign it in a tad. But it’s a 5K, so I just kept pushing as hard as I could without blowing up.

At 2 miles I saw 15:03 and realized I had a shot at a PR. Could I hold this pace?

At 3 miles I didn’t see a split. I just saw that next person in front of me, who I was going to pass.

Apparently I AM capable of running that fast.

And to think I almost didn’t go this morning. I took one look at the frost covered trees and nearly bailed. I decided to go outside and look at the roads. They were mostly clear and salted, plus the temps were mild enough.

1st in my age group, 10th female of 89, and most excitedly – a new PR.

A few observations.

I never realized how critical a decent warmup is to running a 5K. Normally I dawdle around for 1/2 mile and get bored.

Today I did a slow and steady 2.5 before the race. I had promised myself I would do enough miles before/after to reach my 8-9 for the day.

I’ve always thought it seems silly that you’d need to warm up with a run nearly the length of the race, but I can’t argue with results.

On my cool down miles I think I was the only person crazy enough to prolong my entrance inside to the food. But, I did get some pictures of the frosty morning to share.

20120204-010543.jpg

20120204-010825.jpg

20120204-010903.jpg

And ice fishing houses out on the lake…

20120204-010953.jpg

Today I’m going to own this. Today I ran a pace I didn’t know if I would ever be capable of, and I’m proud – yes, proud.

A few days ago Kathy posted about calling a spade a spade. Quitting the false modesty and skipping the self deprecation.

Her post really hit home. I could follow this with, “I know there will always be faster and slower runners. I know my race time is super insignificant in the scheme of things. Blah, blah, blah.”

But I won’t.

Today I ran well. I’m proud.

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

Thanks for humoring me yesterday and giving me your thoughts on this race. I now have the confidence boost of being in better shape than I thought, and I logged 8.5 miles in a much more exciting fashion than I otherwise would have.

Thanks readers; you’re the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Race Reports, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Holy Cow!

  1. sweatykid says:

    Congratulations!!! What a great day! That is a significant PR!
    And oh man, yes, what a difference a proper warmup can make! For me, the shorter the race is, the more time (and effort) I put into the warmup.

    Also, I just went and checked out your PR page… based on your pace today, it looks like that unofficial mile PR is ready for a big nasty knockout takedown.

    • Lisa says:

      I just noticed that mile PR as I updated my 5K time. I suppose once spring arrives I owe it to myself to gut out 4 laps on the track as fast as I can and see if I can run that elusive 6:XX mile! Thanks SK. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. bearrunner says:

    good job! and yes, you are capable!!!!!!! believe in yourself, your a good runner

    cheers

  3. Anna says:

    Brilliant!! You totally nailed it and defended your title! What a great run! Thanks for posting about it – you’ve encouraged me to look at how I warm-up for races in future. Congratulations on a fantastic race!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Congrats…you did amazing! Apparently the warm up helps – I had a really solid 10K earlier this year after a 2 mile warm up. It felt weird to run that much before a race but it ended well!

    Again, you did awesome…and you deserve to be proud of that!

  5. Way to go!! That is totally awesome. Glad you had a good race, and still got your total mileage in.

    Thanks for linking to my post – glad that you’re taking it to heart and being proud of your accomplishment. All that really matters in the end is YOUR results and YOUR running. To God be the glory.

  6. Dana says:

    Hooray!!! You should be proud…there is nothing wrong with taking pride in your accomplishments :). I knew you were going to PR!!!!

  7. Runblondie26 says:

    Congrats Lisa! Fantastic time! L

  8. Terzah says:

    That is awesome! I missed your what-to-do post because I didn’t read blogs all weekend, but it looks to me like you made the right decision. Bask away! You did wonderfully and more good things are ahead. :^)

  9. Bree says:

    Congrats! Sounds like your training is paying off. That’s a great time!

  10. Pingback: 2012: My yearly running review | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

