Give me your take please!

Okay readers, I need your help. Mostly because you are the best source of running wisdom I’ve got.

This morning as I was finishing up 4 miles, it occurred to me that the winter 5K in my area is tomorrow.

I don’t know why I hadn’t thought about this before, but it just went completely off my radar. The weather has warmed up, the roads are melted off, and there’s no reason I couldn’t run a decent 3.1 tomorrow to start off my 2012 racing year.

No reason except all these…

First, there’s the training. I put in 6 miles of intense-for-me speedwork on Wednesday, and I’m on track to run one of my highest mileage weeks in months. Probably not the most conducive to racing a 5K this weekend.

It may also be better and more responsible for my training to just stay home and run the 9 miles I had planned.

Then, there’s the money factor. I’ve already bought new shoes, inserts, and ice spikes this year, plus paid my 1/2 marathon reg fee. Do I really need to spend more money this early in the year?

But, I’m tempted to run it. I ran this race last year in 15-below-zero temps and the nice weather this year is pretty alluring. Plus, I won my AG last year. Gotta defend that “title” right?

And, I could warm up for 2-3 miles and cool down 2-3 miles to still end up with a reasonable mileage for the day.

Ah… what to do?

That’s where you come in. Give me your vote please. Or just your comments.

Tell me to be responsible and stay home to do my long run. Or, tell me to race. I just can’t decide.

Because this is Cow Spots and Tales I’ll leave you with a picture from yesterday. I just love these fuzzy white-faced twins. 🙂

20120203-101246.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Give me your take please!

  1. Happy Runner says:

    3 mile warm-up, 3-mile race, 3 miles cool-down. Millage done. Race done. Happy. 🙂

  2. jena says:

    I’d race, but I’m always up for a good race. You can still do the 9 miles on Sunday if you have the time.
    Being responsible is over-rated 😉

  3. The only reason I wouldn’t run the race is the money – otherwise, I think you’d be fine to do what Happy Runner suggested. If you want to run the race, do it!

  4. Rebecca says:

    How much money is it? If it’s an inexpensive race (to me, that would be $30 or under) I’d do it and get my long run in on Sunday. I’ve never tried the warmup-race-cooldown only but that’s another option. Or run 6 before the race.
    Doooo eeeet! I love racing.

    • Lisa says:

      I haven’t even looked, but I’m sure it fits the $30 or less. I know it’s not that much money, but then I’ll look back over a year & between gas & race fees it really adds up. In the scheme of things this is still a quite cheap race though; thanks for the perspective. 🙂

  5. Anna says:

    I’m a sucker for the race experience (when the purse allows)! My vote goes to the race. I ran a 10K with a friend this year who sandwiched the race between enough extra mileage to make 20 miles for his marathon training!
    Go defend that title!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    I’d race…although I am casting my vote a bit late. I’m a sucker for races, just ask my credit card!

  7. Dana says:

    Coming In late too….I’d race 🙂

Leave a Reply

