Winter Sunshine

Greetings from Minnesota.

There’s nothing like days of frigid wind-chills and single digit or negative temps to make 25 and sunny feel positively balmy!

It’s all about perspective. šŸ™‚

I suppose it’s time for a look around the farm. Things are definitely more white than they have been all season.

20120124-034633.jpg

20120124-034718.jpg

20120124-034752.jpg

20120124-034825.jpg

Do you recognize Sugar in the photo spread above?

She was too busy eating to look up for the photo! I guess she has a good excuse though; she’s growing her baby that’s due in June.

Running Tales

Are any of you guys morning runners?

I’m certain some of you are. I am mostly a morning runner, but it’s something I have to work at. I have never been one to spring out of bed.

I like the idea of mornings more than the actual practice. And I love the feeling of a morning run, but the getting up is always hard.

I’m the type to hit snooze about 3 times. I also wear my running shorts and socks to bed occasionally in hopes that it will shorten my get-ready time and maximize my desire to get to the gym or outside.

Lately though, I’ve been exhausted. Especially on nights when we don’t get home until 9 pm or later. Many nights by the time we eat supper and clean up, it is way later than I’d like. Then if I have any other projects that need attention… well, you get the idea.

Sometimes when I fail to get up I hear my alarm and ignore it. More often than not, I truly sleep through multiple rings and finally wake up just in time to get ready for work.

I’m still getting in some quality miles, but the quantity is suffering. Next week marks 12 weeks until my sub-2:00 half-marathon attempt, and I want to train well.

I’m not one of those people who believes that training starts and ends with a plan. I know the base mileage and speed work I’ve put in this year so far is probably just as important as any 12 week schedule.

And, my training is flexible. I don’t mandate certain things on certain days, but I do want to hit a decent weekly mileage and include speed and tempo work.

I guess I just really want to be consistent and try not to miss key workouts before race day.

But…

I also know I can’t train well (or function well at work or as a wife or human being in general) if I’m exhausted and sleep deprived.

So I’m working on finding balance. The truth still is some mornings I’ll just need to find a way to hear my alarm and get myself going – no matter how tired I think I am.

 

Any tips or tricks to share on this? Am I the only one who struggles?

On an entirely unrelated note, who plans to listen to the “State of the Union” tonight?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Calvin, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winter Sunshine

  1. Terzah says:

    I am a morning runner (I have to be–it just wouldn’t happen otherwise). The only thing that got me used to it was habit. Seriously. And it takes a while for a habit to be established. Sadly, one thing that helped was pretty much eliminating other evening fun, so I could get to bed early enough that waking up early wasn’t quite as hard. For now, it’s been a sacrifice I’m willing to make. It DOES help that I feel so good and function much more efficiently on mornings when I run than mornings where I don’t. I know that, and that alone helps me out of bed many mornings.

  2. Anna says:

    Oh yes, that 25 degrees has really made a difference!
    I do run in the mornings, but it’s not the first thing I do. My legs need that bit of time to warm up and get going and I need to eat and digest – I’ve tried running pre-breakfast but only seem to manage that if I’m running 3 miles or less (which is rare these days!). I’ve played around with my routine until I found what works best for me. I still get up pretty early to allow for running time, I just do things in a different order (obviously shower still comes last!).
    Hey, your goal is similar to mine – sub 2 hours in about 3 months time! Good luck!

  3. shelby says:

    I’m definitely not a morning runner either. Any chance you could sneak out for a quick run at lunchtime, or as a mid-afternoon break? I feel like if you’re legit sleeping through the sound of your alarm, that’s a sign that you need the sleep more than anything else.

    I guess if I were in your shoes, I’d focus on quality over quantity. Get your long run in. Try to get 2-3 more runs in during the week and make them a little faster, especially if they’re short. Remind me when your race is?

    • Lisa says:

      Saturday, April 21. I’ve been thinking about the lunch run lately. I used to do it when I had a “regular” job. Maybe when the weather warms up it would be easier to sneak out for a run once/ week or so. Especically if I tried to pick one day that I just went unless there really was an emergency at the farm. Thanks for the thoughts!

  4. I struggle with finding balance a lot. I don’t run in the mornings anymore but I still get up at 5:30 to spend time on other priorities. The biggest thing for me is getting to bed between 8:30 and 9:30 so that I get 8-9 hours of sleep. I don’t function well on less. For me, this means letting go of some things I would normally be on top of: dishes, TV shows, reading, time with the husband.

    I know you’re a lot busier than I am but is there anything that you could table for 3 months while training? Is there anything your husband or other farm workers could cover on the days you need to get a run in? I personally don’t think that consistently sacrificing sleep for running is the answer because it sets you up for exhaustion (making runs suck) and sickness (sidelining you from life). Good luck!

  5. Brit says:

    I’m a pretty good morning runner. The part that is most critical for me is that I need to have all of my stuff, headphones, water bottle, everything, layed out on my bathroom vanity in the morning so I know that it is ready to go and that I will feel guilty if I see it after skipping the workout.

    You mentioned not running well without enough sleep. I notice that sleep affects my workouts big time. Amazing what a difference it makes!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    In most cases I’m a total morning runner, but with a job that starts at 5am and my hatred for treadmills this just doesn’t work for me. I’ve taken to being flexible with when I run, mostly for my sanity. When making my training plan for the Fargo marathon I took flexibility and the reality of life into account.

    Right now {and I say this because I’m totally okay with my training planning getting tweaked as I go!} my plan consists of 4 runs per week – 1 speed work, 1 short run, 1 mid-long run and 1 long run. And most importantly I don’t have my schedule set up by day of the week, instead I have the runs named and just need to get them all in by the end of the week. Then I don’t have the pressure of cramming a run into a crazy busy Tuesday nor do I have to play catch up all week because I missed Tuesday’s run – I just need to get 4 runs done in 7 days. Its just mentally more attainable!

    I also have my training plan set up into segments of 3 weeks each. This is more of a mind game for me than anything else. I know from experience that my confidence just crumbles if I have a week with really low miles regardless of the reason {sick, life happens, traveling, etc}. So to prevent this my training gets “reset” on paper every 3 weeks. If I had a craptastic week, well, it only affects 3 weeks of my training, not 18 weeks…at least on paper. It seems silly and simple but so far it is working for me! Of course I’m only on week 2…

    And in case this book isn’t long enough – when it comes to actually committing to morning runs I find that wearing my running gear to bed helps. I can’t use the “ugh, I have to put on cold clothes, its so warm under the covers!” excuse and as soon as I’m awake I have running clothes on my body reminding me why my alarm is going off!

    • Lisa says:

      I like your philosophy! It’s a lot like mine. I tend to plan one speedwork, a long run, and a few easy runs with maybe a tempo and I just try to fit them all in at some point. It seems easy in theory, but depending on how the week goes sometimes by the end I’m stressing as to how to fit in those last miles. Hopefully not this training cycle. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

