Etta & Co. Take a Nap

Greetings from Minnesota. It was a chilly -2 degrees when we left the farm late last night, and I don’t think it was much warmer when we returned this morning.

The “dog days” of winter are here. Those long January days when Christmas and New Year’s are past, no festivities await on the nearby horizon, and the winter really starts to feel cold. And long.

Except this year, it hasn’t been that long. I keep reminding myself that just a few weeks ago it was 50 degrees. 50!

Even though we have some cold, snowy days ahead, I can be thankful that the past few months have been mild indeed.

Etta, as I previously mentioned, is happily enjoying life inside the barn with her little clan — 12 calves in all. I haven’t posted any picture recently, but it’s not because I haven’t thought about. I have.

But that heifer….

Honestly. Every time I try to go near her with a camera, she stands up, walks away, or hides behind a friend. Or lately, more often then not, she simply turns her hind-end towards me and swishes her tail.

I’m not sure if she’s camera shy and thinks maybe there’s something sinister behind this little hand-held gadget, or she just wants to be indignant and thwart my efforts.

After a week of trying, I now present the exciting depiction, “Etta & Co. Take a Nap.”

20120118-011724.jpg

Riveting, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

She is pretty though. And in spite of this not being the greatest picture ever, it is by far the best I’ve gotten in awhile.

I also have to say that I love hearing your comments about Etta. Some of you refer to her as “our girl” and I’m thrilled you feel invested in her health and happiness. That was my goal in picking a blog calf, to help you get an inside look and feel connected to this calf.

I know it’s unlikely that most of you will ever see our farm or animals in person, so I figure this inside look is about the next best thing.

Of course if you’re ever in Central Minnesota, give me a shout! You can meet Etta, and many other cows, in person.

I also have another noteworthy calf on my mind. He’s a little bull, about 5 days old. Pretty much since birth he mostly prefers to be outside his hutch, no matter what the weather.

I coaxed him in several nights ago and he came, but I have no idea how long he actually stayed inside.

20120118-012447.jpg

He does have a coat, as you can see, and he’s a thick and sturdy-built little guy. As long as he eats well and stays healthy I’m going to try not to worry too much.

And actually, he was inside his hutch about 10:00 last night when I did a final check. Maybe 0 degrees is his cutoff?

It sounds like we may get some real snow in the next few days, so stay tuned for wintry pictures and updates!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Etta & Co. Take a Nap

  1. Rebecca says:

    Awww, I love his coat!

  2. Dana says:

    AWWWWWWW!!! I think it’s spectacular that the babies have coats ๐Ÿ™‚ He is adorable and I want to kiss his nose!!!

  3. Awww, both of them are so cute! Our dogs seem to be the same way in pictures. They’re all about getting attention until I pull a camera out. Then they will not for anything look in my direction.

    Even though it’s finally gotten cold there, at least the days are getting longer finally! And you’ll have a shorter season of cold. Stay warm!

  4. Brit says:

    I think it is funny that Etta is tough to photograph. I assumed that cow photography was pretty simple, but I failed to recognize that they move around.

    I can’t believe that little guy wanted to be outside. If it is cold enough for him to wear a coat, it is cold enough to go in the hutch!

  5. Cassie says:

    Etta is darling and I love your picture of her. I also the picture of the little bull! He’s so very precious! And Ava is looking over my shoulder and asked to go see him……maybe someday?

    I keep telling myself the same thing – we’ve only really had a week of winter, even though it feels longer. We can do it! We can make it through this cold weather and these short days! Summer is always so, so, so busy and let’s just enjoy the quieter schedules (at least for me; I don’t know about you) of winter. Right? I’m not fully convinced…. : )

    • Lisa says:

      We can do it! And yes, sometimes the slightly more relaxed schedule of winter is okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Glad Ava likes the little bull; we should definitely have a farm visit in your future!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    I think its hilarious that Etta is avoiding the camera! What a little snot…but then I guess its better than a really friendly calf that is licking your phone!

    And thanks for the weather update…can’t believe I was just complaining how cold it was when the wind picked up after our run tonight – its about 40* right now! I should probably stop whining, I got to run in capris and a jacket tonight!

  7. jena says:

    uhm -8? I can’t comprehend such ridiculousness!! that little boy calf is so sweet!! I love his little coat! but he’s crazy. clearly crazy. no one should be outside in weather that cold, including you, Lisa! – 8…that’s just.. I don’t even know.

    • Lisa says:

      Can you believe it was -12 this morning? It sounds bad, and it IS cold, but you just keep putting on more & more layers. And, at some level, you get used to it a bit!

Leave a Reply

