Back to Reality

3 days ago, it was 50 degrees. I paraded around outside in jeans and a sweatshirt, feeling smug about how easy the winter had been thus far.

The next day, it started to get colder, but not too cold. Just enough to remind me that yes, it really is January in Minnesota.

Tonight, as I finished my chores and tucked in my babies, the pins and needles sensation in my poor, frozen nose and face was so strong I could hardly breathe.

Wind whipping, snow blowing, -20 windchill. Hello winter.

There is one thing though…

I don’t know of anything that makes a person feel quite as alive as breathing in full, frigid gulps of winter air as you’re busily working. Your limbs warm up and your heart pumps harder and your nose tingles as the cold rushes through.

It’s just like nothing else. In a good and bad way I suppose!

Let me show you our winter wonderland.

20120112-103209.jpg

20120112-103405.jpg

20120112-103635.jpg

And these, the frozen whiskers. I wanted so badly to get a stellar picture of this gal’s frozen little chin. She kept sticking her head in and out through to the feed. And I kept thinking I got a beautiful shot.

Her pen was next on deck to be fed, so only one other animal had bothered to arise for breakfast. Soon the remaining leftover feed you see in the photo below got scraped away and newly mixed feed arrived. With so few animals in the way, how could I not get a great photo opp?

But, her nose always came out blurry with movement, or the “icicles” were hard to see. After more failed attempts than I can count on two hands I finally had enough. Here’s the best I got!

20120112-103938.jpg

Running Tales

I’m mostly over that nasty cold, and I’m back to putting in the miles and dreaming of spring races. But I have a problem.

My shoes are simply wearing down. After 500+ miles they’re apt to do that, and I got this particular shoe so long ago I can’t even find it on online closeout anymore. (This is my 3rd pair of the same model.)

So I’ve got an appointment Saturday, and it’s the kind of appointment you actually look forward too.

Two years ago Wendi helped me pick out shoes, and I’ve been running happy and healthy since then.

I could just upgrade to the newer model of my current shoe or trust my instincts on something different, but it doesn’t seem right.

(Not to mention the last time I picked out my own running shoes I ended up with wretched pain and a chiropractor bill…)

So for at least one more pair, I’m heading in for an official gait analysis and shoe fitting.

And no, I’m not paid to say that or link to it.

Once I get my new wheels I hope to get inspired to use them by watching some of the marathon trials. FYI, 2-4 pm CST on NBC. 🙂 You knew I had to mention this.

Wish me luck finding another pair of “Cinderella” shoes.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Back to Reality

  1. Cassie says:

    Yes, hello winter. The one thing I keep thinking is that at least we haven’t been doing this freezing thing for a month or more already. Think how short winter will feel since it’s just getting started now!
    And your cows frozen whiskers! I see them. Very cute! As is her expression!
    And marathong trials, huh? I’m just really not sure what to think about that!

    Have fun at your shoe fitting!

  2. Runblondie26 says:

    A day full of running related activities sounds like a great day to me. Have fun at your fitting!

  3. sweatykid says:

    It’s such a bummer when they upgrade your perfect shoe and then you can’t find the model anymore. What were you running in? The shoe/gait consultation sounds pretty sweet — hope you find something great.

    • Lisa says:

      New Balance 758. And honestly, I don’t think they’re the “only perfect shoe” that would work for me. But, they’re working well, and I really trust Wendi’s instincts. I’m sure I’ll find another good shoe, and sometimes change is good. 🙂

      Best of luck to you this weekend!!

  4. Have fun getting new shoes!

  5. Brit says:

    Good luck with your shoe fitting. Chris and I have that on our agenda for sometime in the next few weeks. I have finally used up my huge backlog of shoes too!

  6. Jess says:

    Your cows are soooo pretty. I want to rub my hands in that swirl of fur between their eyes.

  7. Terzah says:

    I totally believe in gait analysis–you’re definitely doing the right thing.

    Love the cow pictures–we’ve had some really cold days here recently, too, and my kids and I always wonder how the cows in the field we see on the way to work/school manage to stay warm.

Leave a Reply

