Made to Savor

Greetings from Minnesota. It was 40 and sunny today, which has got to be a nice forecast anywhere in the country for January.

But for Minnesota in January, this weather is a divine slice of life that needs to be savored.

What better way to do that than with a run?

But first, let’s take a look at the views I’m seeing lately.

20120109-073544.jpg

20120109-074119.jpg

And an indoor look:

20120109-074310.jpg

Yup, Etta moved indoors this week. She and 11 friends are happy campers. There is a big south facing door right next to their pen, so they still get natural sunshine and outdoor breezes when the weather is nice – like now!

So about that run…

Running Tales

I headed out for my first, yes first, run of the year on Sunday. I finally felt healthy enough that a run sounded possible, and the weather was beckoning.

My pace was easy, and the glorious (& gross) result of finally getting outside and breathing deep was a lot of gunk from somewhere within my sinuses got expelled. Ahhh!

After 2.5 easy miles I turned around for the run home (or actually, the run back to the farm).

The last 2.5 I thought I could pick up the pace a bit, and I settled in at that ubiquitous “comfortably hard” effort.

To my surprise/delight I’d locked onto a 9:00/pace during the return miles of my run.

A few posts ago, I talked about how a 1:59 half marathon, or about 9-minute-miles, is my new tempo pace. I want to run this pace so often and so consistently that I could run it in my sleep.

And on the second half of my first run of the new year, that’s just what I did.

So here’s to a spring of solid training and solid tempo runs.

Almost forgot! One more thing I should share.

I did get my last run of 2011 done in style. JR and I were up north with some friends on the 30th, and on the 31st it was cold enough that the snow hadn’t melted yet. This awaited me as I gleefully (albeit groggily) donned my carefully packed running shoes and clothes:

20120109-093508.jpg

The snow was less once I reached the main road, and I had such fun as I explored 6 miles of Minnesota I’d never seen before, all under a cover of white.

Even though I’m happy being snow-free now, it was pretty for a few days. πŸ™‚

What adventures have come your way in the new year?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Made to Savor

  1. Jena says:

    So glad you are feeling better and that you were able to get a nice run in over the weekend!

    The most exciting thing about 2012 so far is the Ragnar relay that I was apart of over the weekend. I’ll recap it this week on the blog (there are pics up on my FB!)

  2. Terzah says:

    Nothing exciting for me until this weekend! But that will be LOTS of excitement on many fronts.

    Here’s to lots of good tempo runs (and weather!) for you!

  3. bearrunner says:

    i love the cow pics.. good job on the runs!

    cheers

  4. sweatykid says:

    Being able to hit a new pace level fairly comfortably is so rewarding… and thank goodness for good runs after getting the sinuses under control! I’m hoping my “adventure” for this week will include clear sinuses as well, but if not, there’s always my trusty shirtsleeve to take the nasal beating while I’m running (oh, so gross…)!!

  5. Dana says:

    Yay for finally feeling better πŸ™‚
    Etta got so big!!! I’m sure that the cows (along with you) are LOVING the fabulous weather you’ve been having. I’m praying we make it through winter without much snow…we had a small dusting last week and that was enough for me πŸ™‚

  6. Rebecca says:

    Etta is getting big! Love our girl. πŸ™‚

    Glad you are feeling better, great job on the first run of the year!

  7. That’s great that your first run on the year ended on such a fast note. Minnesota has nicer weather than Colorado this winter… so weird.

  8. Cassie says:

    This line I love: “this weather is a divine slice of life that needs to be savored.” I agree wholeheartedly! Last week we reached 60 degrees, and I spent a portion of the afternoon just sitting on the deck in the sun with shorts on.

    Glad you are already reaching some running goals this year! And that run up north looks beautiful. I did like the little bit of snow we had while it lasted, too.

  9. Heidi Nicole says:

    Heading out for longer runs on completely new trails is one of the best ways to do it – it keeps you distracted! And you finally had snow to run in! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

