Fun with goals

So this evening, I posted the following to my status:

“I told my husband one of my resolutions is to be neat & organized. I had to amend to “neater & more organized” because the former is certainly unattainable ;)โ€

True fact: I am a rather poor housekeeper. I want to have more order and tidiness in my house and life, but I seem to be inept at making that happen. So a resolution is in order, right?

JR asked how I would measure progress. My response was, “Well – I’ll start measuring how many times one of us remarks that we are starting to have a mess. If that number decreases by some percentage each month, success is mine!”

Of course I know I can’t change this overnight, but I intend to work on it this year. I thought it would be good to put together some other goals for 2012 too. I’m creating most of this list as I blog it, but a few of the goals have been brewing for awhile.

New House

Yup, we need a new house. Our current home is more of a starter fixer-upper. We aren’t in a location zoned to have any animals or additional buildings.

Also. We currently have a hole in our living room floor. Our bathroom is missing one wall. Our shower curtain is held up by branches we cut from the woods. House project in progress.

20120101-123245.jpg

Yes.

It makes a good story, and when we’re older I know we will really look back and laugh about some of the details of our first house.

But at the moment, we need a change. We’ve decided it isn’t practical for us to pour money into our house, and we also need to have a true farm place where we can start housing a few of our own animals and have some land.

We’ve done a lot of house hunting in 2011, and I really hope 2012 is the year we get settled under a new roof!

Under 2 hours

Me. A 1/2 marathon. 1:59:59 or faster. That’s the plan. I will get my first shot at the Earth Day 1/2 in mid-April. And if at first I don’t succeed? Try, try again!

More study time

No, I’m not going back to school. But I do want to get back to the books. I need to plan more Bible study time, and I want to read more books in general. And… I will finally finish Anna Karenina

Healthy and Maintain

Being healthy is great. And I’m happy I don’t have massive changes to make to achieve this. It’s mostly about maintaing. I want to maintain my running fitness, my current weight, and a balanced diet.

I know my 1/2 marathon goal will keep my running on track, and the balanced diet is usually under some semblance of control.

My weight has been happily established at 120 during recent history, except for a brief stint at 115 when a nasty virus landed me in the hospital late in May. So the plan is to (try to) avoid troublesome illness for the new year, stay healthy and active, and let the rest take care of itself.

Keep up with Etta

I introduced you all to Henrietta, the blog calf, in September, and I plan to stay diligent on updating you on her life story. I will also try to continue putting out a variety of quality, engaging content. Every bloggers goal, I know.

20111231-105000.jpg

We do have some snow for this last day of 2011, which Etta enjoyed posing in.

Explore

This one is pretty broad, and it’s my last goal for the evening. In 2012, I want to travel some and learn lots. It doesn’t need to be far, though it would be nice to get back on a plane this year.

I want to take advantage of the trails and parks close to us, and I hope to run a race in a new location. I plan to get to St. Paul and talk to my legislators – as past of an event or otherwise – and maybe this will even be the year I finally visit DC.

I will make those important trips to visit family and friends and perhaps I can even host my own holiday gathering. I want to visit other farms and take part in dairy workshops and education when I get the chance. Then, I need to apply what I learn to continually make our farm the best it can be.

I want to be the best wife, daughter, sister, friend, and animal caregiver and farmer I can be.

Ta-dah!

May you have many blessings and much prosperity and happiness in 2012.

What are your biggest goals right now?

Happy New Year!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), Running, This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fun with goals

  1. Jena says:

    Hm, a tree branch as a shower curtain. I must know the story behind this! Great goals! I have some similar goals in mind :Studying, I need to study for the test so that I can be an actual certified medical biller. I also want to read more books. I did a horrible job @ reading actual books in 2011 – maybe it will be a little easier since Chris bought me a handy Kindle Fire for Christmas!

    Happy New Year, Lisa!

    • Lisa says:

      Well, there is a story. ๐Ÿ™‚ After discovering one of our bathroom walls was 1/2 rotten and then removing it, we realized we had no way to anchor the shower curtain rod in our tiny bathroom. The wall we took out just goes to our basement stairs, so it’s still waiting to be rebuilt. In the meantime, these long sticks have actually worked to keep the shower functional. We could have just boughten something, but this seemed cheaper & more amusing at the time!

  2. Jess says:

    Totally with you on the house organizing/cleaning thing. Ugh! I think it’s part of the curse we earned back in the Garden of Eden!

  3. Laura says:

    Love your shower curtain! I could definitely be more organized, too…. hope you find a house in 2012 and reach your sub 2 hour half!

  4. Bree says:

    Ooh maybe I will have to come spectate Earth Day! If I can walk at that point of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sounds like a great goal.

    I like your branch shower curtain. It’s creative!

  5. Great goals! My biggest goals for 2012 are to run a marathon and get pregnant. Hope you have success in finding a house.

  6. bearrunner says:

    Great goals… Have a happy new year ๐Ÿ™‚

    cheers

  7. Brit says:

    That is a really interesting set of goals for 2012! I should set out to make some goals for the new year also. The story about the hole in your living room floor made me smile. We are in our ‘for quite a while’ house, but it still has plenty of work to be done including fixing a hole in one of the bathroom floors. One project at a time here…

  8. Pingback: Overload | Cow Spots and Tales

  9. Pingback: Going once, going twice… Sold | Cow Spots and Tales

  10. Pingback: “Fun with Goals” Revisited | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

