The Never Ending Fall

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s late December, as you know, but I think the atmosphere still believes it’s October.

It’s near 40 again today, and we had some light rain last evening. Last year at this time I know we were buried in snow. This never-ending fall is strange – in a good way!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. I’ve been slow to catch up on blogs, but I know my reader is full of your holiday tales.

December can get so frantic, but once Christmas actually arrives it is a wonderful time of togetherness and celebration.

As the year winds down I believe it’s high time that I do an Etta update.

On December 20th she turned 3 months old. Can you believe it?

She continues to grow and be
one of the oldest calves in our small group hutches. As long as the weather stays mild it’s working out well to use the group hutches during winter.

She has her first vaccine and booster too. She is also starting to eat more bites of hay in addition to her grain.

Here’s a look at Etta & Co. on Christmas Eve!

20111229-122352.jpg

20111229-122428.jpg

Running Tales

Fall-ish weather has meant great running weather. I have been splitting my miles between the treadmill and outside whenever I can squeeze in a run during daylight.

I’ve got about 7 miles left to beat last year’s total, and I think between Friday & Saturday I can definitely get it done.

I actually hope to put in some Dec 31 miles on wooded trails. If it works out you can be assured I will post about it.

I hope you’ve had good results with your personal and fitness goals in 2011 as well!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!), This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Never Ending Fall

  1. Laura says:

    Hope you had a nice Christmas! How funny that you’re so close to last year’s miles! You must be a super consistent runner. 🙂 Mine started out much higher, but then I took a long injury break, so I’m pretty sure the actual count was lower… haven’t done the calculation to be sure.

    • Lisa says:

      It is kind of crazy. I had a much different running schedule year than last year, but somehow the total is still super close. I need to do a final total, but after today’s 6 miles I think I’m within 1 mile of 2010.

      Sorry about your injury break; that’s always tough. 😦

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Hope you got your miles in! I hear the weather back home has been a little crazy…or lacking in the crazy snow side of things!
    I love the “Etta & Co” photo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

