The Dairy Best Christmas Giveaway!

Greetings from Minnesota! It’s the 19th of December, and we still don’t have any snow. Weird. But nice actually.

I know I haven’t shared much about the farm lately, but I’ve been saving up all sorts of fun pictures for you.

Ready?

First, we had a lovely little Carmel-colored calf a few days ago. He’s a bull, and boy is he cute.

20111219-040131.jpg

We also had a special addition to the herd a few days ago.

If you’ve been following along for awhile, you might recall that Sugar the Cow is one of my favorites.

Sugar’s one granddaughter is 2806, and 2806 had a lovely baby heifer!

20111219-040749.jpg

So Sugar is now a great-grandmother. It’s pretty fun to watch her family grow. πŸ™‚

And here’s the last cow picture I have to share. These little twin girls got moved to our group calf hutches last week. I think they are pretty unique, and I see a lot of calves.

20111219-041313.jpg

Two little twins girls and two little white mustaches!

And speaking of our group hutches, blog calf Etta is now one of the oldest animals in the group hutches, and she’s growing well. She’ll be ready to move into the barn and become part of a larger group soon.

Now…

If you found this post because of the “giveaway” in the title, you’re in luck!

It’s perhaps a bit late for Christmas, but my little blog giveaway should arrive in time for New Year’s. It’s cheese!

I really am thankful for all of you readers, and I wish I could share a Christmas gift with you all.

Unfortunately, that would blow my gift budget to smithereens. But I can give one lucky reader a gift! I’m giving away two pounds of cheese of your choice from My Cheese Store.

You can pick two of the 1-pound blocks or one of the 2-pound blocks – whichever you so desire.

I know I’ve done cheese giveaways before, but I honestly can’t think of anything else as tasty or appropriate for me to share. I’m also proud to give this cheese because it’s made by the cooperative we sell our milk to.

So how do you enter??

Just leave me a comment. You can tell me about your favorite cheese or dairy product, your favorite holiday treat, or anything else you wish to share.

You can also gain one additional entry by tweeting, blogging or otherwise sharing my giveaway and then leaving me a comment telling me you did so.

Because I want this cheese to arrive to the winner in time for New Year’s, the giveaway will close Wednesday, Dec 21st @ 11:59 pm.

I wish you all the best in your final holiday preparations!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cooking and Foods and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Dairy Best Christmas Giveaway!

  1. I think my all-time favorite Christmas treat is lefsa. My grandma used to make it all the time and we’ve made it before too. It’s a lot of work but oh so worth it!

  2. Latonya R says:

    I like sausage ball with cheese.

  3. Amy Ramos says:

    mmm…..cheese.
    My husband plans on making stuffed mushrooms for our 1st New Year’s Eve in our new home! Some cheese would be delightful!

  4. Durinda S. says:

    I am to cheese like Ron Swanson is to bacon! Thanks for sponsoring the giveaway.

    Your babies are adorable–they remind me of the time I would spend at my aunt’s farm during calving.

  5. Da Beans says:

    I just love cheese! Period. Especially bold cheeses and smoked.

  6. Kasey says:

    Mmmm cheese! Colby jack is my fave. The no snow thing is strange for this time of year! I’m up in Fargo, and it’s still really dry here, too. Kind of weird, but I’ll take it! Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  7. Jeanne says:

    After reading your blog and browsing your store I was reminded of port wine cheese spread. Brings back great memories of time with family!

  8. Jen says:

    I love all cheese, but I’ve been on a brie and 5 year gouda lately.

  9. Karen says:

    Mmmm, cheese. I have a soft spot for a nice aged Cheddar. That’s one component of a “picky plate” … hummus, baby carrots, pita chips or tortilla chips, and a good chunk of cheese.

  10. Christen says:

    One of the little shops near my college made an amazing Drunken Goat Cheese. It was red wine soaked goat cheese and simply amazing.
    PS, the twins are so cute.

  11. Rebecca says:

    Yum, I looove cheese! Really sharp cheddar is one of my favorites.

  12. Trish says:

    As sad as this is, one of my favorite holiday foods are those cheap cheese balls covered in nuts you get at the grocery store. I’m usually a food snob, but they bring back good childhood memories.

  13. pdxjudi says:

    I firmly believe that without cheese, the world would be a little less happy. I love baked brie in pastry with jam on top. YUM!

  14. Nicole says:

    Oh I love cheese! And that sweet carmel calf πŸ™‚ my favorite christmas treat is sausage bread, full of herbs and melty cheese. Mmm!

  15. Brit says:

    I can’t believe that Sugar is a great-grandmother! How long is it between generations of cows?

    My favorite cheeses lately are blue and Swiss. Mmmm!

    • Lisa says:

      Most cows will calve for the first time at around two years old. Sugar’s 1st calf was a girl & her first calf was also a girl, so this is about the quickest turnaround possible. Sugar is around 6.

  16. Dana says:

    I.LOVE.CHEESE.
    It will take ALOT of willpower to not eat the entire 2 lbs in one sitting (for real).

  17. MJ says:

    Just had some rosemary manchego last night-think its my new favorite.

  18. Brittany says:

    We love cheese in our house! Any kind, it really doesn’t matter!!

  19. Bree says:

    Yum! I have been eating a lot of Brie lately. Ice cream will always be my favorite dairy product though.

    Twin girl calves! How cute πŸ™‚

  20. Heidi Nicole says:

    Mmmm….cheese!
    We are totally skipping Christmas festivities here and apparently this means I become a huge slacker! The gifts I am making for the in-laws are definitely going to arrive in their mail as Happy New Years gifts! Oops..

  21. Lisa says:

    I’m loving all these cheese comments; everything you guys share sounds so tasty. I’m happy to hear so many of you like cheese too! πŸ™‚

  22. taratru says:

    All I can think of now is lefse. With butter. Or sanbakkles. Man, I need to get in the kitchen.

  23. taratru says:

    Oh, and I facebooked the giveaway. πŸ™‚

  24. seekingsibling says:

    I like my cheese best served over fries!

  25. shelby says:

    It is wrong that I made a small meal out of repeatedly visiting the cheese samples at whole foods the other day? I love cheese and I’d love to try your coop’s!

    Cute cow pics, too!

  26. reanna roberts says:

    Your farm is lovely! I grew up on a farm that appears to be much smaller than yours — Also, I tweeted and FBd your giveaway!

  27. Runblondie26 says:

    Why I could never go Vegan. Cheese! Cheese! Cheese!

  28. Runblondie26 says:

    Tweeted about it too, but I better win πŸ˜‰

    Love all the new calf pictures!

  29. Kayla says:

    I adore the big round slices of colby cheese from our local meat market. So good!

  30. Michelle Voss says:

    Yumm I love cheese, some brie or cheddar sounds awesome for New Year!

Leave a Reply

