Power Verses

Greetings from Minnesota.

I bet you’re expecting a race recap, right?

Well, sorry to disappoint. You’re getting something else today. To avoid the suspense (and if you don’t follow me on twitter) I’ll tell you I ran a 24:02 5K on Saturday.

A few seconds shy of a PR, but I was way under my “B” goal of 25:00. 24:02 works out to 7:45/mile pace, which I’m honestly still excited about. I’m in awe that I’ve run two 5Ks this year at under 8-minute miles.

Two years ago I was thrilled to crack 9-minute miles, so I’ve got to celebrate progress.

My heart is too heavy today to actually write about the race though. I promise to get to it in a few days.

Mid last week, I learned that the father of one of my closest friends died. Her and I grew up on farms just down the road from each other, and I’ve been friends with her family my whole life.

58 is just way too young to die. It’s hard to make sense of tragedy. My whole hometown is mourning his loss.

Bill was a devoted Christian, and there is much comfort in knowing he’s now free of pain and illness in heaven.

As I attended the wake and the funeral, I turned some of my “power verses” over and over in my mind. If you are a Christian, perhaps you also have some core verses that you turn to whenever you need strength?

You know them so well you can repeat the words at a moments notice. And no matter what the situation, they seem to fit.

One of these verses for me has always been Psalm 23. I committed it to memory years ago, and it just sticks in my mind like a powerful glue.

Some of the others are shorter, and I honestly can’t recall the specific chapter and verse some of them are from. I don’t need to, because God keeps the words readily available in my brain.

“Be joyful always. Pray continuously. Give thanks in all circumstances. For this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

“What then shall we say in response to this? If God be for us, who can be against us?”

And another Psalm favorite, the 100th Psalm:

“Shout with joy to the Lord all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness. Come before Him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God. For it is He who made us. We are His. We are His people, the sheep of His pasture.
Come into His gates with thanksgiving. Enter His courts with praise. Give thanks and praise His Holy name.
For the Lord is good and His love endures forever and His faithfulness continues through all generations.”

This Psalm may not be identical to any translation if you check, but it’s the way it reads in my brain. 🙂

I know these verses aren’t traditional death or funeral choices, but they bring me strength just the same. God is the ultimate source of love and goodness.

And when one of His own goes home to heaven, even though we mourn their departure on earth, we know we will see them again. And that is cause for joy – even in the midst of overwhelming sadness.

I wish you all a good Monday and a great start to the week. I’ll be back in a day or two with all the tedious race details.

I hope any holiday preparations you do are going well and not driving you crazy yet!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Power Verses

  1. Congrats on your speedy race and I’m sorry for your loss. Death is always a hard thing, even when we know they’ve gone to be with the Lord.

  2. Laura says:

    Sorry to hear about the funeral…unexpected deaths are so difficult. I agree with you, there is incredible healing power in Scripture. Great job on your 5k!

  3. Bree says:

    Sorry to hear about your friends father. That is way too young. Hope you found comfort in your faith 🙂

  4. Jess says:

    Oh, 58 is way too young. 😦

    Those are a great collection of verses you shared with us.

Leave a Reply

