Off to the Races

Or race, in this case.

Greetings from Minnesota. We’ve had a chilly last few days with temperatures reaching almost 5 below zero last night. Relief is coming though; the weather forecast says 30 tomorrow and near 40 on Sunday. 🙂

I think it will still be chilly tomorrow morning though when I toe the start line of the Snowflake Shuffle 5K. Ironically enough, we still don’t have any snow.

I’m excited that the running conditions should be good. I also noticed on the website that the race has a “winter spirit costume contest.” Those are the only specifics they give, so I’m trying to work out what to wear with my chocolate milk shirt.

Photos to come tomorrow! Now, about my goals for the race.

I have a few. Of course I want to do my best, but I’m also trying to be realistic. Here’s the backstory:

Today I woke up really sore, and it didn’t take me long to figure out why. Between my bootcamp class filled with squats and planks yesterday morning and a long day of moving calves and hutches and everything in between at the farm, my muscles were tired.

Case in point, we now have some freshly bedded, empty group hutches! All the calves you see in the picture got moved in yesterday or today.

20111209-095602.jpg

That frees up individual hutches, which we washed today to make us ready for about 20 new baby calves. Well worth the effort!

Anyhow,

Instead of hitting the treadmill this morning for a few easy miles and then a few minutes of sprints… I slept in.

I think it may have even been the right choice.

I’m feeling fine now, but I still kind of wish I would’ve run this morning to loosen things up. Tomorrow I plan on at least a few miles warm-up because it will be cold.

My “A” goal is a PR, which would be anything under a 23:48. I can’t help but say this. I know every race can’t be a personal record time, but I really feel that if I stay strong and push the pace in that last mile, I CAN do this.

But… If things don’t go so ideally, I think I’ll be satisfied with anything under 25:00. That would still be a solid effort for me and a time I couldn’t be too disappointed in.

If I run over 25:00? Well, I’ll be bummed. But that just means I’ll have to tackle an early season 5K in 2012 for vindication. However it turns out, I am grateful to have one last race to run in 2011.

If I do want to run well it’s probably time for me to get some sleep. I’ll leave you with this photo I took just after the moon rose tonight. Does it look like 5 degrees outside?

20111209-100258.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Off to the Races

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Good luck with your race! You’ll do awesome, one way or another!

    Beautiful picture of the moon. It has crept into a lot of my running photos lately, its just so huge and pretty!

  2. Shelby says:

    Good luck! You can do it!

  3. Brit says:

    Brrr. -5? I just complained about 23 degrees! I’m going to need to toughen up for when real winter hits. Hope your race went well!

  4. Brrr! Just reading about you working outside in that cold weather makes me cold.

  5. Laura says:

    That is sooo cold! We just moved to TX from NY so it’s suddenly hard to remember those cold temps. I enjoyed reading your blog– I also just did my first marathon in May 2011. 🙂

  6. Lisa says:

    Thank you all for your well wishes! I survived & made it in 24:02. Details to come in a few days.

Leave a Reply

