Red and White and Green

Greetings from December in Minnesota. It’s actually been a green December at the farm so far, since all our November snow melted by Thanksgiving.

It is an overcast 18 degrees though, and a few snow flurries appeared through the day.

I like to wait until at least December to bring out my Christmas decor, and so far all we have is a wreath on our door and the nativity set out in the dining room.

I love Advent season, and keeping things somewhat simple around my house helps to remind me that Advent is about quiet preparation for Christmas – not full blown crazy Christmas chaos.

I do want to get a tree, but with our house project “in progress” and an honest-to-goodness hole in our (currently not used) living room floor, I’m not sure we have anywhere to put it.

We may have to settle for a foot tall potted variety this year. I’ll keep you all posted. 🙂

We did finally finagle some time to take a Christmas photo with Calvin yesterday morning. I am a bit old-fashioned in that I love to send real mail. I usually don’t get too it as often as I want, but I always look forward to sending cards at Christmas time.

We decided our yard would do fine for a backdrop, and I just set up my camera with its automatic timer to take the photos.

This proved more difficult than I thought, especially with a squirming dog. 20 degree temps and no coats didn’t help either.

After several – okay, many – failed attempts, I finally got the camera set just right. I think we have a winner!

20111204-091339.jpg

I also have another festive sight I want to share. This little lady was born a few nights ago, rather late, but it was worth it to see her cute little face and small red spots.

I call her Scarlett; bet you can’t guess why…

20111204-091835.jpg

And, ah – please ignore that in the background. Yes, it’s calf poop, but I couldn’t figure out how to crop it while posting from my phone. Sorry! Part of the glamour of the farm, right?

I’m going to forgo running tales tonight because I have a bunch of running news I plan to devote a post to in the near future.

Happy December all.

When do you put up your holiday decorations? How festive do you get?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red and White and Green

  1. Love the pic! We took our holiday card pic with the iPhone. I love DYI photography.

  2. sweatykid says:

    I can’t find the calf poop! Also, that is a beautiful animal.

    You guys are doing a great job making it look a lot warmer than it actually is in your holiday photo!

  3. Bree says:

    Love that pic, too 🙂
    Looks strange to not see snow already. I guess I forget easily.

    We decorated the Sunday after Thanksgiving…that’s usually when it gets done. I don’t have a lot of stuff, but we don’t have a lot of spaces to fill. The tree is the big thing. My husband enjoys decorating more than I do for some reason.

  4. Kathy says:

    We usually decorate right after Thanksgiving but this year, we had my parents here and then we were out of town last weekend so I’m hoping to get to it tonight. We don’t have much room in our house either so we just have a 3 ft tall tree that we set on a table. It’s very easy because it’s pre-lit. But we’ll get a bigger tree once we move in a couple of years – we’re almost running out of room for all of our ornaments!

  5. Jess says:

    What a great family picture! Way to go doing it yourself with the timer!

Leave a Reply

