Thanksgiving Predictions

Greetings from Minnesota on this Thanksgiving Eve. It’s warmed up over the past days, and nearly all the snow from Saturday has melted.

Tomorrow’s forecast calls for sunshine and 50’s, and I predict we’re going to get that. šŸ™‚

I also have a few other predictions I want to share…

1) I will get up early tomorrow and go to the gym first thing.
I’d like to run 6 miles, but I’d be okay with 4. I will probably end up running about 5.

I may be the only person there. (score!)

2) At the farm, the yard will be a slushy, muddy mess. This, I’m afraid, is more of a certainty than a prediction.

3) 2737 will have a baby on Thanksgiving. Throughout this evening she has looked like she is “nesting.” She’s due on the 26th, but my guess is baby will come tomorrow.

20111123-113610.jpg

That’s her in the middle with the big, white head. She’s one of several Montbeliarde-Holstein crossbred cows we have.

4) I will eat so much food my stomach feels stretched, my blood sugar does sumersalts, and the only thing that can revive me in time for chores is too many cups of coffee.

5) The lemon meringue pie bars I’m making will turn out not-quite-right. I always have more trouble with baking than cooking.

6) On the drive to my parents I will be tempted to sample whatever meal offerings we have packed. I will try to restrain myself.

7) We will give thanks. For family and food, friends and jobs, animals and homes, pumpkin pie and roasted turkey. This prediction I know will hold true.

Wherever you are headed this holiday, I wish you a blessed Thanksgiving. I hope you are able to cultivate a truly grateful heart and keep it with you everyday all year through.

Maybe you’re working tomorrow? You’re a solider or in the military; you’re in healthcare, retail, or transportation. You’re a policeman, pilot, and the list continues. You’re a mom or a dad, and that job never ends.

Thanks for what you do! I hope you can still celebrate the day in the midst of your labors.

Happy Thanksgiving!

What is your favorite part of the Thanksgiving feast?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thanksgiving Predictions

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I predict a day of productivity. No family and no mass amounts of food {actually very un-Thanksgiving like foods considering we desperately need a trip to the grocery store for just the basics in life!} but I’ve been up since 4:30am, the laundry is going and I’ve half cleaned the bathroom!

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  2. Every year I say I am goign to use Thanksgiving as an excuse- or opportunity- to learn to bake. And every year I kind of wimp out. I made a berry crumble this year, which involves a minimal amount of bake skills and a maximum amount of butter and sugar. Happy T-day!

  3. Jess says:

    Good predictions. I bet most of them came true. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

